First Cut with the Explore

I finally was able to hook up my Explore last night. I was so excited to finally feel good enough to create a project. (I’ve been exhausted from my day job – I’m training a new hire). I set it up and then did the first cut that they use as an example, a Thank You Card. It uses the pen that comes with the machine, as well as the cutting feature. 

SInce that was a “hold my hand” project, I decided to try to make something on my own. From the comments I read, the advice I got was take your time and do a basic project and work your way up from there. I have to make my goddaughter’s book, so I thought I would start with something from there. 

I have a whole page dedicated to my goddaughter on different swings. I simply typed in the word swing and got a bunch of images. Since I bought the Explore with a three month subscription, I get a ton of images for free! Most of the ones that I saw were free so I was able to pick the one I liked best. I learned how to change the colors on my image so I could tell exactly what would cut on each mat. 

I know that the Explore can do so much more than I am even ready to start to learn! There are so many YouTube videos that I need to watch to learn how to import SVG files (and what to do with them after I have imported them!!), how to edit pre-made projects, how to upload my cartridges, etc. I am having fun learning to use the program and hopefully it won’t be too tough of a learning curve. 

I still have a ton of projects to do, both Cricut and non-Cricut related. So hopefully I will have lots of good things to share with you soon. Here’s a picture of the swing set I used:

IMG_1440

Thank you all for stopping by! Feel free to leave comments or questions and subscribe. 

Michele

YouTube – Chelebelle1120

Etsy – http://www.etsy.com/shop/scrapsecrets

Pinterest – chelebelle1120

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Scrapsecrets/268068073266999?ref=hl

Twitter – scrapsecrets

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a comment