RSS Feed

Sketch Sunday 23

For this week’s Sketch Sunday, I went with a sketch from the My Favorite Things’ sketch challenge (which can be found here – http://www.cardchallenges.com/search/label/sketchchallenge). Since I organized my stamps (but didn’t bring them upstairs to the craft room yet!), I went though them as I sat and watched tv tonight. I found a couple of sets that hadn’t ever been used or had only been used once. I then looked at the sketch and realized that I needed some paper for the background.

For the 4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″ white card base, I used some white Recollections 65 lb card stock. I knew I wanted to use the cassette tape die from MFT that has been in my stash for so long, unused! I cut the bottom layer out of black card stock from Recollections and the label from the same white as the base. I also stamped the label from the MFT Journal It Playlist in Hero Arts Shadow Ink in Pale Tomato.

For the background of the card, I thought I wanted something with hearts because I wanted to create a love/Valentine’s day card. I was looking for some vellum that was leftover from the wedding invitations that I did for my friend Alicia and came across something under my desk that changed the theme of the card. When I saw that the Crate Paper Party Day paper had music notes with “Happy Birthday”, I changed focus. I now needed a new sentiment, so I dug through my stamp sets. I couldn’t find any ready made sentiments that I liked, so I made my own!

First, I saw the word “EPIC” in the Journal It Playlist stamp set from My Favorite Things and decided I wanted it to say “Wishing You an epic birthday”. Next I found the “Wishing You” from the MFT Merry Messages stamp set and the “Birthday” from the MFT Delicious Birthday stamp set. The “an” was more difficult to get, but I finally found the sentiment “You Are an” in the MFT Be Original set. Lastly, I stamped these all in Hero Arts Shadow Ink in Pale Tomato on some white Recollections card stock. I then mounted that on some of the same Crate Paper that I used for the front of the card.

To finish off the front of the card I used the MFT Jumbo Squiggle Border die with some vellum to make the scallop design that is at the bottom of the sketch. I also cut a piece of vellum that was a little bit smaller than the cassette tape die cut so that there was a backing to the tape.

Here is what the card looks like:photo-49image-2

Here is the link to the YouTube video of the card being made: http://youtu.be/pCVV6t3FuJE

Thanks for stopping by!

Michele

YouTube – https://www.youtube.com/user/chelebelle1120

Etsy – http://www.etsy.com/shop/scrapsecrets

Pinterest – http://www.pinterest.com/chelebelle1120/

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Scrapsecrets/268068073266999?ref=hl

Twitter – scrapsecrets

Instagram – http://instagram.com/scrapsecrets1120/

Sketch from: http://www.cardchallenges.com/search/label/sketchchallenge

Supplies:

Hero Arts Shadow Ink Pale Tomato

MFT Stamp Sets:

LLD Delicious Birthday (Birthday)

LLD Journal It Playlist (EPIC and label for cassette tape)

CS 57 Merry Messages (Wishing You)

LLD Accent It (Cassette Tape dies)

LLD Be Original (You are an)

Jumbo squiggle border die

Recollections:

65 lb white and black cardstock

white vellum

Zig 2 way glue pen

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

2 responses »

  1. Sweet! Sometimes I miss my massive cassette collection. 😀

    Susan R. Opel, Creative Ambassador for My Favorite Things

    Reply

Leave a Reply

