RSS Feed

The Perfect Job

What do you want to be when you grow up? I don’t feel grown up, so I’m not sure if I can answer that question. Or is it that because I can’t answer that question I am not grown up? Either way, I am not sure what I want to do for the next fifty or so years of my life. (And when I put it that way, it sounds even sadder and longer!)

The other night I was out to dinner with some friends and we were talking about this exact topic. Somehow we ended up on the topic of Jimmy Fallon and my friend Lisa (from the very well written blog http://rooftopcreations.wordpress.com) said, talk about getting your dream job! We both agree that he’s great at what he does and he loves it. Maybe it’s because he loves it that he’s great at it. We also started talking about Seth Rogen which segued into the Seth Rogen – James Franco magazine cover and video spoof. A couple of my friends had never seen either of them so we started googling and found both the video and the magazine cover. 

That lead into more talk about people getting their dream jobs. Jason Segel was brought up. We started talking about Freaks and Geeks (which starred Seth, Jason and James) and then movies like Forgetting Sarah Marshall. These guys worked hard, but now they can write their own tickets! They make movies together and they seem like they have so much fun doing it. Movies like the recent This is the End, featured all three of them and what seemed like a cast of all their friends. While I wouldn’t say it was a great movie, it’s one of those that you lost have to watch because of the cast. You know that other actors and actresses really respect them and want to work with them just by some of the cameos. 

This is what I am looking for. A job where I get up every day and am excited about it. Where I can work with my friends and do fun things together. Now I know that not every day is a great one, no matter what your job is. There is hard work involved and things you don’t want to do. That’s life! However, if I have to work for the next fifty years or so, I want to be able to enjoy my time and do something that I can really put my heart into.

That’s not to say that I don’t enjoy my day job some days and not that I don’t have friends at work because I do. The tough part about my job is that you see your co-workers three to four times a year which makes it extremely tough to foster relationships. I like the flexibility of my job – it’s one of the perks. However, there are parts to my job that I did not sign up for ten years ago when I started. I get that times change and job responsibilities will shift, but not like this. I don’t think I would’ve taken the job if it was like this at the beginning. 

So, I think I have some tough decisions to make. Is this what I want to do with the rest of my career? Most people don’t stay at one place their entire career anymore – and that’s not a bad thing! Is this even the right career for me? I know that I’m good at sales, but that doesn’t mean that it’s the best place for me to be. Does anyone really know what they want to be when they grow up?

Thanks for stopping by! Feel free to leave comments or questions below and subscribe.

Michele

YouTube – Chelebelle1120

Etsy – http://www.etsy.com/shop/scrapsecrets

Pinterest – chelebelle1120

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Scrapsecrets/268068073266999?ref=hl

Twitter – scrapsecrets

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

3 responses »

  1. First of all, I am still laughing over that parody video. You are great at sales, but that does not necessarily mean you have to stay in a sales job…it also means you have the very marketable ability to sell yourself with whatever direction you decide to take.

    That business plan book we were discussing has a great exercise in giving direction – it is one of the first ones in the book. You create a set of value cards. You list all of the values that are important to you in your dream job or business and then make cards for them representing each value. I originally started doing it for one purpose (to write a business plan for my side jewelry business), but the exercise eventually guided me down the path I am on now to go back to school.

    As far as what I want to be when I grow up…that’s easy…I don’t ever want to grow up!

    Reply
    • Thanks Erin! I am looking into that book. It’s something that is sure worth the time to look at.
      Oh – and I don’t ever really want to be grown up either. : )

      Reply
  2. Great post Michele- and for the record, I really liked This Is The End! I love movies that are silly, campy….or right on the edge between stupid and hysterical. One of my requirements for a dream job is an work environment where laughter and smiling are daily occurrences!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

