RSS Feed

Custom Design Baby Boy Card

The other day, one of my friends asked me to make her a custom order. I made a card from her in the past and she loved it so I was so happy to be able to make another one for her. A friend of hers had a baby and she wanted a baby card. No problem!

The story is a mix of emotions because this family went through a terrible tragedy almost two years ago. And in one of those Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon type stories, I was introduced to this family but not only my friend from work, but a friend from high school as well. I actually donated cards to a fundraiser for Hayden’s Heart a little over a year ago since the story is such an amazing one. I can’t imagine what the family went through and for them to be able to turn the tragedy around and help other families facing a similar heart affliction is absolutely amazing. (You can read all about their story at  www.haydensheart.org or https://www.facebook.com/haydensheartfoundation)

I wanted to make an extra special card for them. So, my friend Marie and I talked about concepts and I told her I had something I thought would work! I used the Baby Steps Cricut cartridge to cut out the baby boy sleeping on the moon. I used the Rock Princess Cricut cartridge to cut out the phrase Little Angel with a halo. I showed her the cutout and she asked if it was possible to add a whisp of orange hair to the baby. I used the hair from another cut from Baby Steps and just glued it under his hat. The “Little Angel” phrase was cut out in orange as an homage to Hayden – kind of like he was looking down on his brother from heaven!

To create the background piece, I used some dark blue card stock for the night sky. I took my Martha Stewart stars punch that is square and allows you to punch the design at any place on the paper to create a star filled sky. Then I took a piece of white card stock and sprayed it with some clear shimmer mist so that when I placed it behind the starry background, the stars would sparkle! (You can see this better in person – it was tough to capture in the photograph.) 

All the layers were glued together and placed on a 5 x 7 card base. The inside reads “Welcome Sweet Baby Boy” from a Simon Says Stamp exclusive stamp set. It was stamped in Hero Arts Shadow ink in Navy. (I didn’t get a picture of the inside before I sent it). 

Here is what the card looks like:

Image

 

Thank you so much for stopping by! Feel free to leave comments or questions and subscribe. I love to hear what you have to say. 

YouTube – Chelebelle1120

Etsy – http://www.etsy.com/shop/scrapsecrets

Pinterest – chelebelle1120

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Scrapsecrets/268068073266999?ref=hl

Twitter – scrapsecrets

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

