RSS Feed

New Business Ideas

Since sales on Etsy are slow and shows this time of year aren’t as well attended as the fall, I am trying to find other avenues for my business. I have a couple of ideas to add to Etsy, but I also have one that has nothing to do with Etsy. I need some feedback from all of you who read this blog. Ahhh – Market Research! I feel like I’m back in my marketing classes in grad school!

First I’ll do my Etsy ideas. For all my teacher friend, I was thinking about selling bulletin board designs. Maybe apples for the beginning of the year so that the teachers can write all the kids’ names and then other designs for different times of the year. Maybe snowflakes for winter and then flowers for spring? I was thinking of making them in packs of 25 with the option of adding additional ones for a small fee. I also was thinking of adding a personalization option – I would add the kids’ names for a small fee too. Not sure if that is practical or not. Thoughts?

My next idea for Etsy is to add scrapbook pages. They will be pre-made and either sold as a package or individually. These will be easier since I have done tons of scrapbook pages – I just have to pick a couple of occasions and then pricing. (You can see I have done my research – lol. I actually just started thinking about some of these options!) Again – thoughts?

I have a couple of other things in the works, but I’ll save them for another post! As far as the true new business idea, if you follow me on Facebook, you already know what it is! I want to expand and do a mobile part to my business. I’d like to do birthday parties where the kids come and make something. So far my ideas are to either have all of the attendees make a scrapbook page for the birthday girl (or boy) and then she (or he) will have a unique gift from all of their friends. They pages don’t have to be filled with pictures (although they can be added later). The kids can also make cards or paper dolls that look like them. All of these decisions would be made in advance so that I would know what to cut and bring. It also depends on the ages of the attendees how detailed I could get with their projects. 

So, does anyone have any suggestions or comments on any of my ideas? Good? Bad? Not thought out enough? (I know the answer to that one ha). Feel free to leave comments and suggestions below. I welcome all (constructive) criticism as well as ideas!

Thanks for stopping by!

Michele

Pinterest – chellebelle1120

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Scrapsecrets/268068073266999?ref=hl

YouTube – chelebelle1120

 

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

5 responses »

  1. Hey Michele, enjoyed your post! The scrapbooking idea might just play out. Etsy is a great way to test the waters. If you want to touch in the personalized market, please get in touch with me. We are offering advertising spots on our website http://happymomscrafts.com, in which we specialize in the personalized market. Or check out my Etsy shop at etsy.com/shops/happymomscrafts.

    Cheers!!

    Reply
  2. I think the scrapbook idea is a great one! Have you ever thought of journals and such?
    I am not a teacher so not sure what kind of decorating they do. I hope the mobile party idea works out for you!!!

    Reply
  3. Michele, I think all of the ideas are great! I especially love the scrapbooking party idea…I think that will be a great hit. I also like Alicia’s idea for a journal…I also like upcycling old books into an album or scrapbook…that may even be a nice little team project…

    Reply
    • Never thought about trying to turn an old book into a journal or an album. Might be a cool challenge. Only thing is for an album I’d have to make the pages acid free, but I’m sure there’s a YouTube video on how to do that! Thanks!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

