RSS Feed

New Year, New Projects

Well, Happy 2014 everyone! I hope that this year is a great one. Last year was a tough one for my family. We lost three family members in less than three weeks, right before the holidays. There were also some more personal losses I suffered this year, but I am hoping that 2014 is a turnaround year!

Especially professionally. I have been struggling with work since I came back from being on disability. I just don’t seem to have the passion for it and I long to be home, creating things for my other business. But since I can’t live off of what I make from there, I need to try to rekindle some fondness for my job before I become completely miserable. 

Which is why I have been working so hard on coming up with new designs and new ideas for Etsy! I started making cards and other projects to submit to magazines and now I just need to photograph them and actually send them in. I wish I should show them to you because they are different from what I normally do, but the rules say it can’t be shown anywhere else. That is, until it is accepted. (If it is accepted?) 

I am also working on some baby albums for my Etsy shop. I searched Etsy this morning to see what was available and I couldn’t find anything like what I wanted to make. This can either be good because I could fill a void or it could be terrible because no one wants them! But, instead of doubting myself, I am going to go ahead and make it and see what happens. Who know – it could be a hit! 

Another project I want to add are tags. I made some for a baby shower and some for Christmas. I would love to be able to sell some for party or wedding favors, either as a thank you or with the bride and groom’s initials or themed items on there. I made the ones for my sister’s shower and I think they came out really cute! (Not that I am biased or anything!) 

So, with a long To-Do List and a great iTunes playlist to keep me occupied, I am off to make some new things for my shop. I hope to be able to post pictures soon of the new projects. Then again, you could always go over to my shop and check them out : ) (Shameless plug, I know!) 

Michele

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

2 responses »

  1. Hello there! I am so sorry to hear you had a rough year with family. My heart goes out to you and I hope you have a better start to your new year. I connect with you because I am trying to get my Etsy store going and also balance working full time. I hope you are doing well! Just dance and create… it will be a good day!

    Reply
    • Thanks! It is tough to balance working full time and the Etsy shop. If you figure it out, let me know. Lol. And thank you for the kind words. I hope this year is better as well. Hope you are doing well too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

