RSS Feed

Learning how to edit videos

Now that I have uploaded a bunch of videos to YouTube, I figure that I should really learn how to use iMovie. I am impressed with the quality of some of the amateur videos on YouTube. I usually just shoot and upload the video. However, I am looking to gain more viewers and I think the next step is creating a more professional looking product. 

I started out searching on YouTube for some tips on how to edit videos. I would love to add text, music, an introduction, logo and maybe some links to other videos or resources. I’ve never done any of this, so it is going to take me awhile to learn how to accomplish these goals!

I did find a YouTube channel that has a couple of iMovie tutorials. I have watched the first one and in it, he goes over the basics of what iMovie can do. And boy can it do a lot!! I can’t believe that I have had this program for so long and had NO idea how to use it! Well, not that I have a much better idea after watching one video. But, at least now I know some of the things that it can do and maybe I can start figuring the editing parts out!

The first thing that I have to do is upload all my videos. I am doing that right now and it says it will take about two hours. I guess I should have been doing this all along! I probably should have deleted all the outtakes of videos I’ve done, but I didn’t think about that before it started uploading all the clips. 

Once all the clips are uploaded, I can start working on editing the new video that I made today. I am excited to get started on adding and editing things. I did watch the other two videos that he made (his YouTube name is Charles Heureaux) and I learned a lot of basic features of iMovie. 

Do you have any tips for editing videos? Any good YouTube channels/videos I should watch about it? Good books to read? Feel free to let me know what you use to edit your videos and what resources you find helpful. I will post a link to my newly edited video once I figure this all out!

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave comments and/or questions and subscribe!

Michele

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

2 responses »

  1. Hi, I’m sure you have seen this video on youtube, but just in case you haven’t:

    Also, if you have an apple store near you, most of them..at least here in NY, offer free imovie lessons among other apple apps.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

