RSS Feed

To Do Lists

Lately I have been having a tough time sleeping. Ok, so maybe it hasn’t been lately. It’s really been months. I can’t remember getting a good night’s sleep since my surgery – in February. My mind races at night thinking of the things I need to accomplish the next day. This can range from craft projects to exercises for therapy to bills I have to somehow figure out how to pay while being out of work on disability. You know, stressful things. 

My solution has been to try and write a To Do List before I go to bed each night. I have scraps of paper lying all around my room so I use them to write the lists. Each night it feels like the list grows. I am hoping that eventually writing the lists will help clear my mind. I also hope it will help me remember everything that I need to do, even if I don’t accomplish it in one day. (Let’s face it, who accomplishes their To Do List every day? Or ever??) 

I also hope that this will help my creative process. Having to constantly think about all the mundane details of everyday life takes up valuable brain power. My creativity will hopefully start shinning through, especially since I have three 2 day shows coming up in the next couple of months. I need to be at maximum creativity right now and having all these tasks isn’t helping.

So far I think it’s helping me sleep a little better. I mean, I don’t fall asleep any faster – it’s still 2 or 3 am before I fall asleep. And it doesn’t help with the telemarketer phone calls that wake me up each morning. But, it does help clear my mind. 

What helps you clear your mind so you can create? 

Thanks for stopping by! Feel free to leave a comment or question and subscribe!

Michele

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

One response »

  1. I struggle with creativity too. Some days it’s just not in me. I have to be in the right mood and stress doesn’t help. One thing that does help me is playing some of my favorite music in the craft room and I also love it when it rains. It’s so calming. I don’t create nearly enough as I should and this is a personal goal I’m working on because when I do finally get something made it puts me in a better mood and then I wonder why I put it off for so long! 🙂 Too bad that better mood didn’t happen first. lol Then I would create more! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

