RSS Feed

Craft Fairs

Lately, almost all my projects have been in preparation for my upcoming craft fairs. When I am not working on projects, I am doing research on craft fair set ups or ways to market my Etsy shop. I’ve been reading a lot of marketing books and even the Idiot’s Guide to Selling on Etsy. I am in preparation mode, to say the least!

Most of my resources are spent on making pop-up gift card holders. They don’t take as long to make as cards and they proved to be very popular in my past two craft shows. However, you never know what will sell well at a show. At my first craft fair, my lollipop gift tags were a big hit. They did sell at my second fair, but they were a distant second to my pop-up gift card holders.

To help expand my offerings, I have also started making Post-it Note holders. I’ve made two so far and I think they’ve turned out cute. They are made from the lucite photo frames, scrapbook paper, ribbon and of course Post-It Notes! I am also adding a pen so it can be an all-in-one gift. With some of my shows being close to the holidays, I am hoping that people will see it as a great gift idea.

I am also researching new ideas for things to sell at the craft fairs. The next two shows I have are down the shore and I am sharing a 20 x 20 booth with one of my fellow Etsians. I will have lots of room, so I feel like I need to offer more. I’ve been watching YouTube videos to see what others are offering. When I find an idea, I always change it to make it my own.

For any of you who have done craft fairs – how do you package your items? For my first two fairs, I used simple Target ziplock bags. I didn’t want to invest a lot of money if I wasn’t going to continue to participate in craft shows. However, now that I am committed, I need to find some more decorative ways to package my cards. I’ve been looking on sites to see how much boxes are so I can make sets of cards. I am trying to offer new price points because for the most part, all of my items are around $5. While this is great for the customer, it makes it harder for me to make back my table fees at some of the shows.

I also want to make sure that my products are displayed nicely. I am constantly looking for new setup ideas – anything that will be inexpensive, but eye-catching! I pinned several ideas awhile ago and now I just have to go back and look. If anyone has any ideas, suggestions, comments or helpful hints, I’m all ears! Let me know what has worked for you. I love seeing what other people have done with their displays.

Back to the craft room. I have a little less than a month to get ready for this next show so it’s crunch time. It’s a Christmas in July show so I am working on some Christmas themed items today! Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave comments and questions and subscribe. I’ve listed all of my sites below!

Michele

http://www.etsy.com/shop/scrapsecrets

YouTube channel – chelebelle1120

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Scrapsecrets/268068073266999

 

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

One response »

  1. Pingback: No more crafting deadlines! | Love, Lucie

Leave a Reply

