RSS Feed

Letter to my younger self

Posted on

Recently I read a book that had a bunch of famous people look back on their lives and write a letter to themselves at a younger age. At a time when they thought they couldn’t get through something. It gave advise and hope to themselves at that age. It made me think, at what age would I give myself advise? Have I been around long enough to look back and give my younger me advise?

The time I came up with was when I was a geeky middle schooler (although I don’t think I realized how geeky I was back then). Here is my letter:

Dear 12 year old me, 

The braces and glasses will eventually come off. You won’t be saddled with this look for life. Yes, your hair will always be poker straight and you will never be able to wear it like the cool girls, with their perms. No, you won’t always fit in. You are a shy person by nature, cautious of people when you first meet them. Sometimes it will take them starting a conversation with you to make you feel comfortable. Your sister will say mean things to you – don’t take them to heart. She will be mean to you for a LONG time. You may never know the reason why you two don’t get along. But it’s okay – it does get a little bit better. It will take a lot of time and work on your part, but once she finds the right guy, he will help mend the relationship – a lot! She will learn to be more patient with you and not say so many mean things that hurt your self-esteem. For some reason, you put a lot of stock in what she says – don’t. Be more confident in yourself. And stop listening to what others tell you to do. If you want to continue with art, do so. You are in talented art for a reason. You love it, even if your dad says that there’s no future in it. Take art classes in high school. Heck, major in art in college. You’re smart – you will find something to do with that degree! Most of all, believe in yourself. Believe that you can do what you want. It will take you a long time to figure out what you want to do in life. You will get a job that forces you to overcome your shyness. It’s probably the best thing for you, even though you will still prefer small groups to large parties. You won’t have a million friends – you will have a few amazing friends who will stick by you no matter what. You will find out who matters and who is more of an acquaintance than a friend. You will have friends that you go for long stretches of time without talking, but you can always pick up the phone and they will be there for you. You will accomplish a lot and buy your first house at 23. How many people can say that? And you did it on your own, regardless of what your sister says. Your mom will turn out to be a friend and a mom. You will tell her the whole truth about a relationship with a guy who broke your heart, but who you shouldn’t have been in a relationship with. It will be one of your lowest points and she will be disappointed, but she will be there for you. So will your dad, but he doesn’t know the details. He will just hate to see you cry, but not know how to make it better. He’s a dad. You will learn that family is important. In the blink of an eye, your little brother will be a grown up. He will be giving you career advise. How crazy is that? You will watch him get married and think, when did my baby brother become a man? And you will laugh at the irony of  how what he said he always wanted in a woman is the exact opposite of what he got. The day your sister gets married will be one of the hardest days. You just have to smile. Things will happen that will change relationships – let it. It’s for the best. Sometimes you have to let go. 

I know this is a lot of advise and a good glimpse into your future. And, knowing me, you won’t listen to any of it because you hate being told what to do! Just know that things turn out okay – not the way you planned them, but okay!

Love from the future, Me 

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

2 responses »

  1. michele, nery reflective and introspective. I like the idea of writing a note to oneself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

