RSS Feed

I think hell may have frozen over

Posted on

Because I went to church today. I am by no means an atheist. I grew up Catholic and was forced to go to church every week. I attended CCD classes until my Confirmation. However, once that was done, my interest in attending mass was done as well. I became a “Chreaster” person. (For those of you not in my family, that’s a person who attends mass on Christmas  and Easter only. My family likes to make up words. Just ask them!!) Lately, it’s become only on Christmas Eve, midnight mass to be more specific, and the occasional funeral.

But today, due to the fact that we were having an open house down the shore, the library didn’t open until 1:00 AND it was too cold to walk on the boards, I attended mass. Now I know that sounds really bad. But, it was my only option, unless I wanted to sit in the car for 45 minutes to an hour while my parents were inside. 

I am actually glad I went. (Just don’t tell my parents!). The priest’s homily was about how people have so much stress in their lives and that is mostly because of worry. He said there are three types of people. The first he called “Yesterday’s Children”. There people are so worried about the past that they can’t move on. They obsess with what they already did. The second type he called the “Disney Children” because they are off in Tomorrowland. They’re the ones that are constantly worrying about the future. Neither of these two are living in the present, which is the third type. The “Present Children” live in the here and now. We can’t change the past and who knows what they future will bring, if we have a tomorrow. It’s not a guarantee. 

And yes, I do have someone in my life who is constantly reminding me that we don’t know what the future holds when I start having panic attacks about what’s going to happen. I think I live 90% of my life in Tomorrowland, instead of living in the here and now.

One of the things that I found most interesting is the priest said that he found some of the most together people are ones in recovery. Why? Because of their motto – “One day at a time”. So many of us find this difficult to live by. Especially in this day and age. 

So, my lesson for today is to enjoy more of the here and now. Stop obsessing with what might be. For the most part, I am ok with my past. It has made me the person I am today. I’m not proud of everything that I have done. But, what’s done is done, I can’t change it even if I wanted to. It’s the future I have a more difficult time with. 

I do believe in God and I believe that there was a reason I heard that homily today. I needed it. Even if I don’t go to church very often, I am still a spiritual person. Everything happens for a reason right? 

*I know this isn’t my normal type of post. I’m having a tough time categorizing it! However, I just thought I would share it with you because it has a good lesson! If you usually read my blog for crafting tips and suggestions, thanks for reading this as well!*

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

One response »

Leave a Reply

