RSS Feed

Pinspiration

Lately, I have felt like I can’t come up with new ideas. I’ve been having a tough time concentrating (could be due more to all the pain my body has been going through and the fact I can’t take anything for it!) and when I can’t concentrate I can’t create. I feel like I have ADD more than I ever have. I’ve always joked that I did because I usually can’t sit still for very long (unless I am creating something – then hours can go by without me realizing it). 

So since lately I haven’t been able to come up with completely fresh ideas, I’ve been turning to Pinterest. And yes I know, it’s the biggest time suck there is, but it is also a great source for inspiration. But only if you give yourself a time limit and stick to it. (I do and I hardly ever stick to it – again, that’s why Pinterest is a time suck!!) 

The amount of creativity out there is amazing. Often you will see some of the same things over and over, but once in awhile, you come across something that makes you want to try it. Now, when I say I find inspiration, I don’t repin something and then copy it. Often I will take one design element and use that to help me make a new card. For example, this card. ImageI took the number cut out idea and created this card – 

ImageSame design principle using cut out numbers with color behind them, but completely different look. And that’s what I mean by inspiration, not copying!

Now I know there are plenty of people out there that will see an idea and just say, I can make that! They will copy your design and pass it off as their own. It happens all the time in business. Now with sites like Pinterest and Etsy, it’s even easier for them to do so. It’s unfortunate since it often takes a long time to come up with some designs, picking the right colors and papers and executing your vision. If you’re going to copy me, at least give me credit!! 

Anyway, I know that people are Pinterest-crazy and I love it to. It’s a great source of inspiration that I have been turning to lately. If you want to check out what I’ve been pinning, here’s my info:

Thanks for stopping by! Feel free to leave a comment and subscribe. 

 

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

One response »

  1. Pingback: AtoZChallenge: I is *also* for…Inspiring picture quotes! | circles under streetlights

Leave a Reply

