RSS Feed

Blog Hops

A couple of months ago, a bunch of us who sell on Etsy and are part of a group called South Jersey Etsians got together to discuss ideas on how to improve sales, new marketing ideas, craft show advice and tax questions. My part of the meeting was to discuss new ways for us to drive traffic to our shops and new ways to promote ourselves. 

I came up with a long list of both individual and team ideas, one which happened to be a blog hop. I have seen other people do them, but I have never participated in one. Apparently I think I am qualified enough to not only be in one, but to run it. I don’t know who gave me that impression, but here I am, a couple of weeks out from hosting my first one. 

This one will be a Mother’s Day theme and so far there are only four people signed up. I am not sure how many people are typically in a blog hop, but I feel like that number is a little low. Maybe I will cut myself some slack, seeing that it is my first ever! (Probably not though – I am generally toughest on myself). Anyway, I am excited to be able to do this and hopefully it will be successful and other team members will want to join in for the next one. 

The thing that makes it most difficult to coordinate this blog hop is that we all make different kinds of handmade pieces. There is such a unique mix of media that it is hard to come up with a theme. In the blog hops I’ve seen, they are all paper crafters and you have to use a certain stamp set or certain paper to participate. I am trying to come up with unique themes and mostly all I have come up with are holiday related (hence, Mother’s Day) or maybe some color related ones (orange or red for fall). I will have to look and see if there are any blogs that have done hops like this. However, I do think that it makes us stand out – there’s something for everyone! 

So, in the next couple of weeks, look for our first ever blog hop. I can’t wait to start it and I hope it goes smoothly! (I probably just jinxed it, didn’t I??) 

Thanks for stopping by! Feel free to leave a comment and subscribe. 

Michele

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

2 responses »

  1. I’ve never participated in a blog hop – not really sure how it works but it sounds like fun! Hope it goes well and you have lots of fun with it!

    Reply
  2. Michele, looking forward to it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

