RSS Feed

Get Well and Pet Sympathy Cards

A couple of weeks ago I received a custom order request from a friend that I went to grad school with. She asked me for a pet sympathy card. I didn’t think that there would be a market for those type of cards, but to my surprise, I was wrong! My last sale was in fact the same card I made for her! So I have to say thanks to Kara for the idea!

Here is the original card:

Image

And here is the card I made for the Etsy sale – I emailed the customer to tell her that I could customize the dog to the colors of her friends’ pet and she chose tan and white:

Image

The colors are slightly different. I don’t like to make two of the exact same card – I like to make each card unique. I also added a collar and a tag with the letter “Z” for the dog’s name.

The next card I made is for my coworker. She had surgery on Thursday. I know its going to be a long road to recovery for her. She came down last week to get cards that I was donating to Hayden’s Heart fundraiser this past weekend and she liked the Thanks a Latte card that I made. So, I wanted to use that image in the card for her. But how do you turn a coffee card into a get well soon card?

Well, this might be a stretch, but I used the sentiment “How’ve you bean?” on the front and get well soon on the inside. I had to think long and hard about how to make it work and I think I might have succeeded. We’ll see once she gets it!

Here are the images from the card:

IMG_2377 IMG_2378 IMG_2379The coffee cup was cut at 5 1/2 inches and the newspaper was cut at 3 1/2 inches.

Hope you like the cards! Thanks for stopping by. As always, feel free to leave a comment and subscribe. Also, if you want to see more about the cards, check out my YouTube channel – my username is chelebelle1120.

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

6 responses »

  1. the pet sympathy card is so sweet!

    Reply
  2. How’ve you bean? : ) Perfect!

    Reply
  3. Love all the cards! I think you’ve got a great idea with the pet sympathy cards. I’ve noticed on Pinterest people pinning pet sympathy cards for ideas. As someone who only has pets (not blessed with any children) my cats are my feline children. I have 3 cats that mean the world to me. 🙂 Have you thought about posting your cards to Pinterest for more exposure? I have a Pinterest account and would be happy to send you an invite via email. Just let me know! 🙂 My email address should post in your admin area when you get this comment. 🙂 You could create an account as yourself or as your Etsy business. It’s a wonderful way to get traffic to your blog too. I get a lot of traffic to my blog through Pinterest because I created a board listing My Handmade Cards. ~Vanessa

    Reply
    • Thanks Vanessa! I agree with you – my 2 cats are my babies. I do pin all my cards to Pinterest. I will start following you. I have had people visit my Etsy site from there. Thanks for the suggestion. It’s so nice when people pass along info like that! I always appreciate it!

      Reply
      • Oh that’s cool that you’re on Pinterest! I will start following you too! 🙂 That’s great that your Etsy site is getting traffic from there! Yay! Hope you’re having a great weekend with your sweet kitties! It’s raining here so I have all 3 near me taking “cat” naps :)! ~V

      • I just started following you – thanks for finding me. I didn’t know how to find someone on Pinterest. LOL. Thanks – mine are doing the same. Since I’m home now, I realize that napping takes up 90% of their day! Hope you have a great weekend, even with the rain. The sun is FINALLY shinning here! Michele

Leave a Reply

