RSS Feed

Fear

Fear is a funny thing. It can be the driving force behind most of your decisions. Sometimes it causes us to stay in relationships longer than we should or it keeps us from getting into a relationship. Other times it keeps us from going after what we really want, especially if there is a fear of failure. The fear of rejection or the fear of what family and friends may think of us for making certain decisions can dissuade us from making the leap into a new venture.

Fear has played a big role in my life. I had been working on papercrafting for a while before I decided to take the leap into selling on Etsy. I was scared that no one would like my creations (which, I still am!), but I was also scared of what other people might think of my idea. I think that a lot of the time I seek other people’s approval, so what those closest to me thought of my business was very important to me. I also only did two craft shows last year because I had a fear of failing. Maybe people we just buying my cards because they knew me. Maybe strangers wouldn’t like the things I took so much pride in creating.

But, I had to overcome my fear because I would never know until I tried. I got a lot of positive comments from customers and people who just stopped by to look at my cards and other creations. I also learned a lot from those two shows and will be able to apply those suggestions in the future. It was a great learning experience and something that I will do again, even if I am still a little afraid to do new shows!

I feel like I am always fearful of the unknown. I think that most people are. Some people push through the fear and what’s on the other side is often a learning experience and not as bad as you think. I often talk myself into (and out of) an idea several times before making that final decision. I need to have more faith in myself and in my abilities.

Fear hasn’t been all bad. The fear of failing has pushed me to become a better sales person at shows. (I’m a sales person by day, but somehow it’s more difficult to sell things that you actually made because you have so much invested in those pieces.) I also tend to work better when I am under pressure and the fear of not having enough for a show puts plenty of pressure on me! The week before a show is when I tend to be the most creative and the most productive.

So, fear isn’t totally a bad thing. Sometimes fear is a great motivator and other times fear can hold you back. What would you do if there was no fear of failure? Maybe it’s time we all took the leap and used fear as a jumping off point instead of the reason we don’t do something. Good luck if you do decide to take the leap!

Thanks for stopping by and feel free to leave a comment!

Michele

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

4 responses »

  1. Well said, Michele! I did a post this week on a similar topic…it was about bravery. Guess its time to face our fears. Very nice post!

    Reply
  2. well said, Michelle and very reflective of what many of us feel.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

