RSS Feed

Information overload!

I’m feeling a little defeated right now. One of the Etsy teams I am on did a (voluntary) critique and I signed up for it. Problem is, when I signed up I figured I’d have all this time to make and add things to my shop. However, I didn’t. I also didn’t work on a new avatar or a new shop banner. The avatar is a picture of a center piece that I made for my sister’s bridal shower and the banner is a picture that my niece made on some program on her iPod (which is supposed to be me). 

Well, I got ripped for having those two in my shop. Almost everyone hated them. Yes, I know I needed to change it. And yes, I thought I would have had something to replace this images by now. But, I didn’t and now I am feeling overwhelmed. Also, even when you know something is wrong, sometimes it hurts to see it. I wanted to defend all comments, but deep down I know they were all right and just trying to help me. I need to remember that! 

It wasn’t all bad. My work itself got great compliments, as did my shop policies and the fact I offer free shipping. It made me feel good that people said that they liked my work. But why is it that you can get a million great compliments, and only focus on the negative? Or is it just me? I know I asked for it and it really is helpful. It’s all things I need to hear and it will help me in the long run. 

So for now, I will make a list of all of the comments and suggestions and work on one at a time. If I break it down, maybe that will help me from being so overwhelmed. It’s always good to have others look at your shop and give honest feedback, whether it hurts to hear it or not. These other people sell on Etsy and have an idea of what customers are looking for when they shop. They also don’t know me so they can be honest without doing that polite “it looks great!” feedback you often get from friends and family. (Unless you have a sister like mine – she’s brutally honest with me – more so than most of these other shop howlers probably were. Haha). 

I feel a little better now that I have a plan. Not so overwhelmed! 

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

4 responses »

  1. Michele-don’t be so hard on yourself! I think most of our shops are works in progress! Whatever needs improving doesn’t have to be done in a day! There are lots of things I know I could do to improve my own shop, but I need to take time to do them a bit at a time. So in the interest of denial, I haven’t signed up for a critique!

    Reply
    • Thanks Lisa! I like knowing I’m not the only one who feels as though their shop is a work in progress. Mine hasn’t even been open a year and I know that it needs work. So I will slowly chip away at the list and thanks to great advice from team members, continue to try and improve. And attend mixers so that I can continue to learn!

      Reply
  2. Michele I agree with Lisa!! And just follow your own advice, slowly chip away at the list and you’ll get there! Your work is amazing and don’t forget it! =)

    Reply
  3. I agree with the other, don’t be hard on yourself, at least you were brave enough to sign up for one! I so need to but I’m scared 😦 just break it down into small weekly tasks and before you know it, BOOM! You’re done 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

