RSS Feed

Social Media’s importance in small businesses

Yesterday I attended a Marketing Mixer with some team members from one of the Etsy groups I belong to, South Jersey Etsians. It was really fun to hang out with creative people who experience some of the same challenges I am facing while trying to promote my Etsy shop. One of the topics of discussion was social media and ways to promote our businesses. 

There are so many different forms – blogs, YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Wanelo, etc. How do you choose what to use? Can you do them all? If you do, how do you divide your time amongst all of the options? At what point does it become overkill? Or can it ever become overkill?

We all sell on Etsy, so we already had that social media outlet down. There’s always something to learn and I did learn some things. Such as, there is an app to help create treasuries. There’s also an “offline media” section where you can grab a code to link your shop on your blog.  I need to take advantage of these tips. 

The second social media outlet that most of us have is Facebook. It can be a powerful site to upload pictures of your work, promote your new blog posts or YouTube video or let your followers know what craft show you are going to be attending in the upcoming weeks. Twitter can also have the same effect. I use both – Facebook more so for pictures and longer updates and Twitter to send links to my YouTube videos or new blog posts.

One of the things that was brought up was, how much is too much? If you are on ten different social media sites, how do you have the time to update them all? I do realize that I am on lots of different social sites, but I use them sporadically. I find that whatever I joined last is what I spend most of my time on. Lately, it’s been working on YouTube videos. But I still try to update my blog (this is one of my goals for 2013 – updating it at least once a week!), tweet and Facebook. However, most of my tweets and Facebook posts are promoting my videos or sending out a link to my blog. 

i am not taking full advantage of all of the aspects of this blog. A fellow teammate, Erin, recommended an ebook Launching a WordPress.com Blog for Dummies in a Day. (Her blog is serendipityblu.wordpress.com if you want to check it out). I plan on reading that and hopefully I can maximize the effect of my blog! 

I know that there are many things that I still need to work on when it comes to social media. If anyone has any tips or tricks for any of these sites, please feel free to share. I’m looking forward to reading up on these sites and hopefully learning a lot. I will share what I find and I hope you will too!

Thanks for stopping by!

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

One response »

  1. Michele, great post. I feel the same way…totally overwhelmed with so many choices and how much time to spend on each social media site.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

