RSS Feed

Using letter stickers in a different way

Have you ever been working on a project and you need to write a title or label something and you just can’t find the right color letters? You have the correct size and style, but the colors just don’t mix with the layout. That happened to me yesterday. I didn’t want to use the Cricut for a two word title, so what were my options?

I found a set of letters that i picked up in the dollar bin at AC Moore a long time ago. The previous page had the colors white, black, yellow and grey and these letters were blue with white clouds. While they were really cute, they didn’t exactly match with the previous page. I tried to use them, but it just didn’t look right. What was I going to do?

To add some interest to the page, I used a silvery glitter ribbon to the black background. I had used a Martha Stewart punch to create a gift border and then I added the ribbon to tie it into the opposite page. But, then looking at the page again, the letters looked really out of place. I wanted them to tie into the silver/grey. What could I do?

Glitter glue! I have a couple of bottles of silver glitter glue and I thought that adding it to the top would make the letters look more like Thickers and would match. So, I carefully traced all the letters with the glitter glue. It gave the page some dimension and it also made sure that the title was nice and straight, as opposed to me free-handing it. 

Just because something isn’t the exact color you need doesn’t mean you should discount it as something that you can use on your page. There are plenty of ways to alter embellishments so that they will fit your theme or color scheme. I could have used regular paint to create the appropriate color. You can use ink to change the color of embellishments as well. To use an embellishment that is the right shape or size but has a sentiment that doesn’t match, use a piece of white card stock and stamp to create a new greeting.

With just a little bit of creativity, you can use those things that have been sitting in your stash because they don’t exactly match with what you are working on. I hope this inspires you to look at your supplies a little differently. Thanks for stopping by! Feel free to leave a comment. 

The original stickers and the letters after using glitter glue:ImageImage

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

