RSS Feed

Valentines Day

So, it’s only the second week of the year and already I’m thinking about Valentine’s Day. Actually, I started working on them at the end of last year. It seems as though, like in the food industry, you are always worried about the next holiday before the current one is even over. Or maybe that’s just the crazy world we are living in. Retail stores seemed to have adopted that philosophy as well, so I guess my business has to follow suit.

When I started out creating some design concepts, I wanted to do a lot with distress inks. I have a lot of pinks and Valentine’s Day seemed to be the perfect time to try out mixing and matching for some unique backgrounds.

The first card I started out making was one I designed around a stamp set that I have had for awhile, but have never used. It contains a stamp that features two birds holding hearts. One says “Be Mine” and the second one says “Or Else”. I used two Spellbinders Nestabilities dies and used white cardstock to create the top two layers for the card. I used Worn Lipstick distress ink to color the top layer (which is the layer the stamp is on) and then used Picked Raspberry for the next larger layer. I backed both of them with a black cardstock.

The next thing I did was create the background. I took another white piece of cardstock and used the same technique with the Worn Lipstick distress ink. I then put the newly distressed cardstock in the hearts embossing folder and then used the Picked Raspberry on the embossed image. This technique highlights the embossed image while the debossed part retains the original distress color. The background was backed with some more black cardstock. I placed pop dots on the back of the original image and then assembled the card.

Thanks for stopping by. Please feel free to leave a comment or become a subscriber. You can see some if my distress techniques at my YouTube channel – chelebelle1120. Image

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

