RSS Feed

Christmas cards

Last year, I was crazy enough to make a different Christmas card for everyone I sent one to. This year, I decided that there was no way I could do that while keeping up with making things for Etsy and working on some custom orders that I received from the two craft shows I’ve done.

One of the women I follow on YouTube was been making card videos with the Cricut cartridge Create a Critter 2. I have the original one and wasn’t sure that I wanted to get the second one because it looked like a lot of the same critters. But oh how I was wrong! I love the second one much more than the first. The first was my go to when I made kid pages or cards because of the cuteness of the animals on there. With the second version, the animals are dressed up for any occasion you can think of – there’s Valentines, Halloween, Easter, Christmas, Hanukkah and birthdays just to name a few. And it’s not just one animals. For example, Christmas features an elf monkey, a reindeer, a mouse with a Santa hat, a dog with a Santa hat, a snowman, Ginger bread man, ginger bread house – I’m sure that there are other images that I forgot. If you make lots of cards for specific holidays or make them for kids, I’d really recommend this cartridge, even if you already have the first one!

When I was looking through the booklet, I found some images that I knew I was definitely going to use. This is the first booklet that I have seen that shows you all the features in the front and tells you what pages they’re on. You can see what is on the cartridge without having to flip through all the pages, which is nice. It gives you an idea of what you will find and shows you the image put together! (Sometimes you will only see the parts in the pages – for example, you may see a diploma and the ribbon for it, but not the whole image together. This new format changes it. Good job ProvoCraft!!)

The images that I chose to make for my cards (so far) are the mouse with the Santa hat and scarf, the dog with the Santa hat and scarf and the Reindeer. I cut them all at 3 1/2″ and then assembled them. They looked a little plain to me so for the reindeer, I used red glitter glue and made the nose sparkle. On the hats for both the mice and the dog, I used clear glitter glue on the white parts. The only cards that I have assembled completely so far are the reindeer. I used a couple of Christmas paper packs that I bought at AC Moore and Hobby Lobby that were 6×6. I cut the pages in half and then again at 4 3/4″ and used distress ink around the edges (either barn door or peeled paint). I glued that to a piece of red card stock that was cut at 3 3/4″ x 5 1/4″. The images were then placed on pop dots and attached to the card.

I am not sure how I am going to assemble the remaining cards since I did manage to pick up a 12×12 Christmas paper pack at Michael’s the other day. (They were $19.99, then 50% off and then an additional 30% off of that with the Black Friday early morning coupon! I should have picked up 2!!) I like the way the reindeer look, but I think I want to make the others a little different. I am also trying to keep in mind the weight of the card since I am going to be mailing most of these and I don’t want to have to use more than one stamp.

Here is a picture of the assembled critters:

Is anyone else out there making their own Christmas cards this year? I’d love to see what you’ve made!

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment!

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

3 responses »

  1. Hi Michelle! Too funny! Your first paragraph made me smile because as you know I had to refrain from making individual designs this year and focus on 2 or 3. I did exactly like you did last year and made unique Christmas cards for everyone in my immediate family and then some to extended family and friends! It literally burned me out and I didn’t want to craft anymore for quite a while! So this year I am mass producing a couple of designs. I love your tip on the Create a Critter 2 cartridge. I was looking at this one but wasn’t sure about it until now. I don’t have the first one yet either but the second version is so tempting! I didn’t know it had all those layers of dressing up the critters for different seasons! That sounds like an awesome cartridge so thanks for sharing and for sharing the adorable photo of your Christmas critters! They are darling! Happy Holidays to you and yours! ~Vanessa

    Reply
  2. Great post!! Fantastic information! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

