RSS Feed

Playing catch up!

I feel like lately I have been playing catch up. My day job has been crazy, so I haven’t had as much time to work on projects as I would like. I had an amazing client ask for a custom order at the craft fair that took me awhile to work on. I loved the idea that she proposed so much that I actually did the same thing for my brother and sister-in-law for part of their wedding present!

For the custom order, I was asked to make one wedding card and eight Christmas cards from the couple. She wanted teal, white and silver as the colors incorporated into both cards. For the wedding one, she wanted starfish and sand dollars along with the colors. It took me awhile to come up with the concept for the wedding card – the Christmas one was easy!

For the eight Christmas cards, I took a white card base and cut a black sheet of card stock to fit over the front, with a small border of the white showing around the edges. I then used a snowflake background stamp inked up with VersaMark and silver embossing powder to create the front piece of the card. Using the Cricut cartridge Elegant Edges, I chose one of the circles with a scalloped edge and cut the top layer in white and the bottom layer in teal. Then I took a monogram stamp that I got from the AC Moore dollar bin and inked it up with teal Stazon ink and placed the “k” monogram in the center. I had some teal see-through ribbon that I thought would look great behind the monogram. I glued all the layers together and then onto the front of the card base.

For the interior, the customer wanted it to say “Merry Christmas from Mr and Mrs. (last name)”. Since I don’t really like printing sentiments from the computer, I had to find stamps that had the correct saying and were size appropriate. The first one I chose was a sled and two reindeer that said Merry Christmas underneath it. Then from a word stamp set that I got at Hobby Lobby I took the word “from”. The Mr and Mrs also came from a stamp I picked up at Hobby Lobby, but this one was a wood mounted stamp. (The other one was a clear stamp.) The last stamp I chose was a sign stamp where I could print their last name.

I inked up all these stamps with the same teal Stazon ink I used on the front and stamped them onto a piece of white card stock. I backed that with a piece of black card stock that was a little larger and then placed them onto the inside of the card.

The wedding card was another story. It took me so long to come up with a concept I wasn’t sure I would get it done in time! I knew that I had sand dollars and starfish on the Life’s a Beach Cricut cartridge. I also bought a stamp set when my sister got married on the beach that featured beachy items. I just couldn’t get a background image together.

I went through all my paper (which is A LOT!!) and came across this beach scene – sand, palm trees, beautiful blue sky with clods and the water. I knew I had a stamp of a couple dancing, so it was coming together. What if they were dancing on the beach with some sand dollars and starfish around them, with the beautiful sky and ocean in the background? I cut the paper so that it was mostly the beach and then adhered it to the front of the white card base, with no border. Then, I cut out the pieces from the Cricut and I believe they were 3/4″ or 1″ at the most from white card stock. I inked them up with tea dye distress ink so that they wouldn’t stand out on the beach as much.

Next,  used the same teal Stazon ink and stamped the image of the couple dancing onto white card stock. I did some fussy cutting and then attached it to some silver paper. I also stamped “Best Wishes” onto a piece of white card stock with silver ink and then attached it to some silver paper as well. I adhered the sand dollars, starfish and sentiment right to the card base, but for the couple, I used pop dots so that they would stand out.

For the inside, I used some teal paper and a Martha Stewart deep edge border punch with hearts. The teal paper covered the interior of the card and then I placed a piece of white card stock right underneath of it. On that, I used a stamp that said “May your new lives together abound in love today, tomorrow and forever”. I used some of the hearts that were left over from the top cut out to adorn the corners of the white paper and I was done!

Here are some pictures of the custom order!

        

Thanks for stopping by! As always, feel free to leave comments or questions.

 

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

4 responses »

  1. All of the work and details on these cards show through! I love the colors and techniques! These are so lovely and I’m sure your client will be so pleased! ~Vanessa

    Reply
  2. I love the teal! It really pops with the snowflakes on the holiday cards and blends perfectly with the wedding card…just beautiful!
    ~Erin

    Reply

Leave a Reply

