RSS Feed

Chinese Takeout boxes

A couple of months ago, when we were working on planning my future sister in law’s shower, we came up with an Asian theme. It was partially based on the location that the maid of honor had chosen. It was a cute Viennese cafe that was decorated with a tree branch and hanging paper lanterns. When I heard that we were going with the Asian theme, I remembered that there was a Chinese takeout box in one of my Cricut cartridges. I made one to take over when we met to discuss what we were going to do for Erin’s shower.

I was just planning on suggesting them for the centerpieces. We had picked out favors that the MOH had found online and decided on what invitations to order (from PaperHeartCompany on ETSY – I HIGHLY recommend them! They were very helpful.) Then someone suggested doing a selection of candy as favors. Somehow that spiraled into me making 60 of the boxes at a smaller size and giving them as favors, filled with candy. I didn’t mind – I really like doing that! I was just nervous that they weren’t going to hold the candy or that they wouldn’t come out okay. I always get nervous when I make things that lots of people will see. I know I need to get over that, but I still worry that my stuff isn’t good enough!

So, 240 (give or take a few) cuts later, I had the shells for 60 favors. Luckily, I was able to convince some of the other bridesmaids to help me assemble them. HAHA. We put together an assembly line and were able to knock them out in about an hour! The girls were amazing. We had a couple of girls assemble them while I cut the cherry blossoms to put on the side of the favors. Another girl cut the wire for the tops for the handles.

Here are some pictures of how they turned out. I was so happy with them and got some really nice comments on them. I think I am going to add them to my things I bring to my craft show next month!

Thanks for stopping by! Feel free to leave a comment.

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

