RSS Feed

Christmas already?

Even though the summer solstice was only a couple of days ago, I feel like I have moved on from summer. However, the weather lately is sure telling me differently. The reason I feel this way? I started working on Christmas projects already!

I know – way to rush the holidays right? I was in Hobby Lobby the other day and they already have a ton of Christmas stuff out. How could I NOT walk down aisle after aisle of Christmas decorations?? Then I started to panic. Are people already starting working on their projects for the holidays? Am I getting a late start? Ahhhhhhh!

So the other night, I decided to start on some holiday items for the craft fair. On Pinterest, I found a cute idea for a tag. It was in the colors of a Santa suit and cut from the Cricut. I have tags that I have made from the Cricut, but I decided to do something different this time. Hobby Lobby had Paper Studio tags 50% off and I picked up two packages.

On the Pinterest image, the tag was cut from red card stock. I decided to use Tim Holtz’s Barn Door distress ink to color the white tag. After it was colored, I took a strip of black paper and glued it to the tag to use as a belt. I used my large square punch to create the yellow part of the belt buckle and the small square punch to create the center. I then added some glitter glue for buttons. I thought it looked adorable, so I sent a picture to my brother for his opinion. His suggestion – it’s great, but wouldn’t it be even better if the belt opened up so you could write “To” and From” in there?

Never one to back down from a challenge, I took it on. I figured out a way to make the belt attach and open. But, I didn’t like the way it looked because the belt buckle was off-centered. So, I created a dummy piece, folded and refolded it as many times as it took to make it look right. I then cut another piece to the same dimensions and prayed that it would work.

I loved the way it looked! Much better and I think, a cooler idea. I have to give my brother credit. He’s creative and he’s always looking for ways to make things better. I really do have to thank him for this idea because I think it gives a unique twist to the original idea.

Here are some picture of the “work in progress”:

This is the original design, before my brother’s idea:

Original

This was the first attempt, the off-centered buckle! :

Second

Here’s the second attempt, the final one!:

Final

The interior:

Inside

Thanks for stopping by! Feel free to leave comments.

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

2 responses »

  1. Oh, this is such a great idea! What a cute and fun interactive tag! Love it and it’s perfect for Christmas gifts! I haven’t worked on any Fall or Christmas items yet! And already I feel like time is slipping away. Last year’s holidays had me rushed and I told myself to plan better for next time. It’s amazing how fast the year flies by. Seeing your post has motivated me to start working on holiday cards and tags! Take care! ~Vanessa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

