RSS Feed

Buying handmade

The other day, my air conditioning broke which I was thrilled about because it was only 2 or 3 years old. So my old neighbor came over to fix it and we were talking about what everyone has been up to lately. I happened to mention to him about selling things on Etsy (hey, you never know where you are going to meet your next customer!!) and his response was, is there really a market for that?

At first I was taken aback. What do you mean is there a market for that? There are hundreds of thousands of sellers on Etsy! And I sure hope so because I just opened up a shop on there! But then I had to think, he probably has never heard of Etsy. Which, of course, made me start thinking about when I learned about this site and how many of my friends had no idea what it was when I first started selling on there.

A friend of mine from hs, Missy, has been a seller on Etsy for a while. (www.etsy.com/shop/zucchiniandco). I think that was the first time I had heard of it. I took a look, but I wasn’t really sure what it was all about. It wasn’t until about a year ago I realized the power of Etsy.

I compare it to Amazon for crafters and anyone looking for handmade things. If you are getting married and haven’t yet checked Etsy out, I’d suggest doing so. For my sister’s wedding, she got the most adorable cake topper. She sent in a picture of her in her dress and her fiancé in his suit and this is what she got back:Cake Topper

This is a picture of the two of them:

The dress really looked like hers and the details were so darling – right down to the groom’s sandals!

This is just one example of what you can find on there. Need invitations for a party? Etsy has it. Need a unique piece of jewelry? Check Etsy. The items that you can buy on their site are endless and most sellers offer customization.

So, to answer his question of is there a market out there for handmade items I’d say yes. Even though the economy isn’t very strong, people are looking for ways to differentiate their event or gifts from others. In many cases, you can find items cheaper on Etsy than at stores. If you want something unique for your next party or to give as a gift, check it out. I bet you will find something you like!

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

One response »

  1. Etsy is a great venue for selling our unique handmade items and I know several people now who have had success selling! I’ve been impressed with how hard Etsy works to make the site a competitive market that helps enable both it’s sellers and buyers. As with any venue though, it takes time and energy and a good marketing and networking strategy to get noticed and stay current. It has opened many doors for me! Best of luck with your shop! Cheers, Deena

    Reply

Leave a Reply

