RSS Feed

Creative inspiration

I was thinking about where I get some of my ideas for projects for. Some come from the little books that come with the Cricut cartridge and then I design my pages around whatever image I am creating. Others come from the photograph itself or a certain background paper. I also use YouTube for some inspiration – type in a specific category that you are looking for and sometimes 40 or 50 videos will appear!

But recently my source of inspiration has been a little different. Awhile ago I signed up for Pinterest and began to pin a few things – a Scrapbook Wish List board, a Dream House Board, an If I ever learn to cook, I’ll make this board [if you check mine Pinterest site out, you will notice that this board only has one pin. I don’t ever really plan on learning to cook : ) ]. But recently, I started pinning some items that have turned out to be sources of inspiration.

Like I have said in previous posts, it’s very easy to get stuck in a creativity rut. Especially when you have a ton of projects going on like I do right now. Some have deadlines in the next month or so and others are a few months off. When I start to think of all of the things I need to accomplish, I get overwhelmed and the creative part of my brain shuts down.

So, just spending 10 or 15 minutes on Pinterest can give me some new ideas and help me get back on track. But, who am I kidding? Like I only spend 10 or 15 minutes on there? So, maybe more like an hour! I get wrapped up in things – I get creative ADD! HAHA. In all honesty, I have found the site to be very inspirational. I don’t want to copy other’s work, but sometimes I see a new technique or product that I’d like to try.

If you haven’t signed up for Pinterest, I’d say give it a try! We even got my mom to sign up and I taught her how to pin things the other day. It’s great for party planning ideas – especially for weddings. You can easily show bridesmaids a variety of dresses without having to send emails (no attachments to open up!!) or see what flowers would go best with your table linens or centerpieces. The possibilities for Pinterest boards are endless. I love to see what people have pinned!

Thanks for stopping by!

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

