RSS Feed

Special Helper and Sneak Peek!

Posted on

Recently I have been spending more time in my office than usual. I have a lot of work to do and things to prepare for and it’s stressing me out. I wrote out a list, which turned out to be a lot longer than I thought of all of the things that I want to get done. I can’t seem to find the time to get it all done along with all of the other things that need attention. But, it’s a good problem to have because that means I am busy and I work better under pressure!

So, while I was diligently working the other night, I had a surprised helper. I was in the middle of a layout for one of my newest projects and felt something at my feet. One of my cats had stealthily entered the office (which, once you see a picture of him is kind of amazing because he’s not a little guy!) and started to come over to me. I was so engrossed in what I was doing I didn’t see him until he was meowing to come up and help.

Fred, my cat, is a big baby. I got him when he was a couple of months old, along with his sister Lucy, and for the first few months we lived with my parents until my house was ready. When we moved out, the cats loved it because they had free reign of the new place (unlike at my parents where they were only allowed in the basement and my room, unless someone – my sister – forgot they were there and opened the basement door and sprung them!!) When we moved in, it was March and unseasonably warm. Since we had to paint, I left the windows open and had the ceiling fans on. I left them on for months because the weather was so nice. Then came the winter and one night I turned the fan off. Fred started meowing like he was hurt so I turned the lights on and the ceiling fan came back on. He stopped meowing. I turned the lights and fan off and he started meowing again. It took me a minute to realize that he was meowing because he wanted the fan on. So now we sleep with the fan on every night, regardless of the weather.

But he is also a little love and really seems to get my moods. When I’m upset, he always jumps up to the couch or the bed and comes to sit with me. He always wants to be involved with what I’m doing. That particular night I was stressed because I couldn’t come up with a design that I liked and then every time I tried something it didn’t come out the way I had it pictured in my head. I guess cats can sense these things (or at least Fred can, Lucy seems to not really care! lol) and it didn’t surprise me that Fred was visiting me to see what was going on!

Of course when Fred “helps” it takes twice as long because he’s always sitting on something I need! I have two workspaces – one with a self-healing cutting mat and the other with a non-stick mat. He chose the self-healing mat to lay on (it’s cushier than the non-stick one) and plopped himself down. And of course that is just where I needed to be working! So I stopped my project and started to take pictures of him. He HATES having his picture taken and despite his size, he moves pretty quick for a big guy. (He’s 15 pounds!) Here are some of them from that night:

Anyway – back to my project. After that little break I was able to clear my mind and come back with some new ideas. Right now I am working on my first ever 8×8 photo album. It’s a real challenge for me because normally I am used to working with 12×12 pages and can include multiple photos on a page. It’s been a challenge to squeeze a couple of pictures, a journaling spot and an embellishment on each page. It’s been a huge learning process for me.

The 8×8 is a girl’s baby book and it’s going to be one of the things I am offering at the craft fair. I’ve been working on it for about two weeks now and I really like the way it’s coming out. I just wanted to give a sneak peek of what one page in particular looks like that I am proud of. I’ve been taking 8 1/2 x 11 and 12×12 papers and cutting them down to 8×8. For a 12×12, that means you have two decent sized papers left so that when you are working on a  two page layout, you can tie the two pages together with the same card stock. I like that because it makes the pages cohesive and I hate wasting paper!

So here is a sneak peak of one of the pages from my new project:

While I was writing this, Fred jumped up on to the bed next to me and sat there until I got up to grab my phone to take a picture of what Lucy was doing while I was writing. I didn’t want her to feel left out that I included pictures of Fred, so here are some of her “contributions” to my working process:

I actually woke her up when I got up to get my phone. She snores like a human being – and that’s what she was doing the whole time I was writing. Lucy’s a lot less interested in my work, unless she can get her paws on something and bat it around.

Thanks for stopping by! Feel free to leave comments.

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

2 responses »

  1. Fred and Lucy are so cute! I have three cats that like to keep me company in my craft room – especially Isabelle (2 years) and Savannah (12 years). Sable (Isabelle’s sister) will hang out a little bit but not much. She much rather lay in my lap watching TV. I love the 8×8 scrapbook page. The papers are so cute for a little girl! Hope you have great success at your craft fair! ~Vanessa

    Reply
    • Thank you Vanessa! They’re actually brother and sister. They’re so sweet. I’m away right now and I miss them like crazy. Thank you for the sweet words about the scrapbook. It’s my first foray into 8×8 scrapbooks. And thanks – I hope it goes well too! I have a couple more months to prepare.
      Cats are too funny. I love how some of them help and some only want to cuddle.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

