RSS Feed

Embossing on shiny paper

Posted on

Today I was working on one of my 8×8 baby scrapbooks and I was looking for a certain color of paper to emboss a sentiment on. The only paper that I could find that would go with the background paper happened to be a shiny, metallic paper. I had never tried to emboss on that before because I just assumed that it wouldn’t work. I had tried to stamp on shiny paper and unless you use an ink like Stazon, it takes a long time to dry and smudges.

Because of my stamping experience with shiny paper, I stayed away from embossing on it. I had to try three different times before I got something I liked. The first time, I used green glitter Martha Stewart embossing powder. The result wasn’t exactly what I had hoped for. Between the shininess of the paper and the glitter in the powder, it was too much. So, the second try was a white embossing powder by Martha Stewart. When I hit it with the heat gun, I realized that it was an opaque powder and not the regular white. I accidentally grabbed the wrong one! Ahhhh! Oh well. It came out good, but not great. The opaqueness made it too difficult to see the words once it was placed behind the page protector. On to the third try.

This time I used a Merlot colored Recollections embossing powder. When it was in the bottle, the color was almost the exact same as one of the colors in the background. But, once the heat gun hit it, it was a little different. I’m not sure if it was because of the shiny background or the darker color. It was still my best option and I was tired of trying : )

I used my fancy edged scissors to cut out the phrase and then I placed it on the page with the other items to see how I wanted it to look. It was a long phrase, so I placed it on pop dots so that you could still slide a picture underneath it. Here are some pictures of it:

Phrase

Page

Thanks for stopping by!

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

