RSS Feed

Happy Mother’s Day!

Posted on

First, I wanted to say Happy Mother’s Day to all the mommies out there. I hope you enjoyed your special day, no matter what you did. You’re the reason for this particular entry!!

If you read my blog post the other day, you know that my former next door neighbor requested custom cards for her mother and mother-in-law. (See https://scrapsecrets.wordpress.com/2012/05/11/my-first-special-request/).  Today, I was at my best friend’s mom’s house and her sister said that someone needed to make Nonna cards, since that’s what her daughter and niece call their grandmom. Her daughter also happens to call another one of her grandmothers GiGi.

This got me thinking – why don’t card companies make cards for anyone but Grandmom or Nana? I guess when we were little we just gave Grandmom cards to our grandmothers – we called one Grandma and the other Mom-Mom. People from the south call their grandmothers Meemaw, but I’ve never seen a card like that.

I’m keeping this all in mind for next year, when it gets closer to mother’s day. There are so many different names we use for the same person, but card companies are ignoring that. Do they not realize that it’s frustrating when you want to buy a Mom-Mom card, but they don’t offer one? But, I guess I shouldn’t complain too much – here’s an untapped market for me to look into!

So what do you call your grandmother? Are there any other people out there that have had this same issue? Leave a comment and let me know – I’d love to see what people do. I am guessing it’s the same issue for birthdays and Christmas or any other holidays? Any other suggestions? I’m sure that people face the same issue with Grandpop.

Thanks for stopping by! I appreciate any feedback. : )

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

2 responses »

  1. shiela fuller

    Mchele, I think you are on to something. But don’t tell the card companies, keep this information to youself!! LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

