RSS Feed

The Past Four Months

Posted on

These last few months have been really tough on me, both physically and mentally. Being out of work for 16 weeks was tough enough. I had so many people saying how lucky I was to be out for that long. Some of them acted like it was a long vacation, when the truth was most days were harder than work days. The uncertainty of what was happening after the surgery was tough and frustrating. Most of the time I was angry because I couldn’t walk correctly. I still can’t and it frustrates me to no end.

I miss going to the gym. I had a great workout routine going and I felt great. I haven’t worked out since the day after my birthday, which has been almost six months now. The only form of exercise I can do right now is what I do in therapy. Unfortunately, most of that leaves me so tired I can barely do anything else. I know I shouldn’t complain because where I am now is so far away from where I was when I started therapy almost 4 months ago. I really have come a long way, but I still have a long way to go.

Luckily, one of the things that helped me stay sane and busy during these last four months was scrapbooking and crafting. For the first couple of weeks after surgery, I was so focused on the projects I had to complete for my sister’s shower. It was a nice distraction. When I am working on any project, I seem to lose track of time. I’ve worked on a lot these past 4 months – it really helped me fill in the time I would’ve been spending at the gym or at work.

I didn’t write this to complain – I actually realized now that I am back at work how much time I had spent creating projects. While these past couple of months were tough, it didn’t seem as though I was out as long as I actually was because I was so busy. I think I finally know what direction I want to go in and starting my Etsy shop was a first big step. Sometimes it takes a major event in your life for you to see where you are supposed to be. : )

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

2 responses »

  1. shiela fuller

    well said, Michele. So treu, sometimes a huge turn in your life can open your eyes to new possibilites.

    Reply
    • Thanks Shiela! You of all people know how difficult it is not to be able to go to Zumba. Lol. But I guess this was just something I needed to go through. I’m excited to see what the future holds….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

