RSS Feed

Baby Girl Card

Posted on

I have been so busy working on projects to post to Etsy that I haven’t really had time to blog or to create things for family and friends. I am still trying to get used to splitting my time. It will be harder next week when I have to go back to work. : (

Anyway, tonight I worked on a card for friends who had a baby girl a couple of weeks ago. For the baby cards I’ve done for Etsy, I used Baby Steps. Tonight I decided to use New Arrival. I forgot what a cute cartridge that is! I did a baby album with this cartridge, but that was the last time I used it. It’s a really good cartridge for baby shower invitations, baby’s “firsts” pages and newborn cards.

When I was going through the booklet, I wanted to use something I hadn’t used before. There’s a baby bootie and I thought that would look cute on the front of a card! I cut the bootie out at 3 1/2″ from a pink and white polka dot paper. I used the shadow button to create a darker pink paper border around the cut out. I did the same with the bow.

To create layers on the front, I cut some dark pink and white card stock slightly smaller than the 5″x7″ card front. For the white layer, I ran it throughout the Cuttlebug with the Swirls folder. This gave the front a little bit of dimension. When I put the layers together, I placed the white layer closer to the top of the dark pink paper so that there would be enough room for a sentiment under the bootie.

I chose some of the pink and white polka dot paper and stamped in black ink “Congratulations…..on your new little one” and then attached it to the bottom of the white layer. The last thing I did was stamp the sayings “A Baby is a Precious Gift” on the inside and “Tiny new bundle” on the flap of the envelope.

Here is what the finished card looks like:

Thanks for stopping by!

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

One response »

  1. This is an adorable card! Love your paper choices and colors. I also love the D’vine Swirls embossing! That’s my favorite folder. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

