RSS Feed

Waterfall Cards

While I was doing some research for ideas for my sister’s wedding gift, I stumbled upon a YouTube video for a waterfall card. The video gave step by step instructions on how to make one and it looks so different from anything I’ve ever made before. So, I used my sister’s birthday card as the guinea pig!

First I started out with an aqua and black zebra striped paper. I have been wanting to use this paper, but haven’t had any projects that it fit with lately. I placed that on a black piece of paper that was a 1/4 of an inch larger on all sides. I then took a 2 x 9 inch piece of light blue card stock and scored it at 2, 2 3/4, 3 1/2 and 4 1/4 inches. This paper will be used to hold the 4 pieces of paper with the pictures (or words/phrases if you choose) that will be flipped to reveal the next image. Fold the paper along the score marks and place this piece to the side.

Next I cut out 4 black squares at 2 x 2 inches and 4 light blue squares at 1 3/4 x 1 3/4 inches. On the light blue squares I used black ink and stamped four different shoe images. I then glued them onto the black squares. The next step is to take those squares and glue them onto the 2 x 9 inch strip of paper. Make sure that you glue the square just under the fold line on the paper. If not, when you go to do the “waterfall” effect, the paper will have a hard time folding. At this point, the images or phrases should be stacked on top of one another, with a small amount of the image underneath sticking out.

Before I could glue these pieces down to the card base I had to cut a small strip of black card stock that would house the brads and be the piece that holds the waterfall feature to the card. I put a small amount of ATG glue on both ends of the black strip and then attached it to the zebra and black card stock. I punched two holes at the end with my xacto knife and placed the brads through the holes. For the brads, I used two square ones I had lying around. They were yellow, so I took some paint I had in teal and painted the fronts and the sides of the brad. The brads are used to reinforce the small black strip since a moving part is going to be attached. It gives the card a little bit more stability.

To attach the waterfall feature, I placed a small amount of adhesive onto the backside of the shorter end of the waterfall piece and then placed the shorter end on top of the black strip. The tail (longer side) slips under the black band. Once that is in place, pull gently on the tail and make sure that the mechanism allows all the images to be seen and moves smoothly. If it doesn’t, you may have placed a piece too close to the edge where the paper was folded.

When you pull the tail down, you see a lot of blank space. I decided that I wanted to stamp something on that end so that there would be a message when you pulled the tail. I chose a stamp from the birthday set I had (I believe it was a Fiskar’s set) that was a circle with the phrase “it’s my party and I’ll dance if I want to.” I thought that was appropriate since the images were all shoes! I also attached a small black bow I made from a piece of thin ribbon where you pull to activate the waterfall feature to finish the front off.

The last step for the front of the card is to glue this piece to the card base. I attach my cards to a 5 x 7 inch white card that I bought in a pack of 50 from AC Moore. I use these because then I don’t have to worry about making envelopes to fit my cards. Once this was done, I started to work on the inside.

To make the inside match the outside, I took the same aqua and black zebra paper and lined the inside of the card with it. I then took a black square and a smaller light blue square an attached the two. I stamped the word Celebrate in black ink. Then I added an exclamation point with a black gel pen and wrote a message to my sister to finish off the card.

The waterfall card is a really cool effect. I am going to try this on some of the Christmas cards I make this year. One note – the card is a little heavy because of the layers of paper I used and the brads. I will probably just make it for ones that I can give out and won’t mail because they will probably cost more to mail. I hope that these directions make sense – if any of them are unclear, please let me know!

Here are the pictures of the card. Thanks for stopping by!

Where to score on the Martha Stewart scoring board:

Where to score

Papers used:Papers used

Brad:

Brad

After pulling on the tail – revealing the stamped message:

Waterfall

Inside:

Inside

Finished card:Done

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

3 responses »

  1. That is cool! I have never tried cards like these and I’m liking the waterfall style a lot! Very neat and I love your design! The stamped high heels are perfect with the “dance if I want to”!

    Reply
  2. Thanks Angela! Vanessa, if you make one, make sure you post it. I would love to see what you come up with! Thanks for your comment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

