RSS Feed

More Easter Cards!

Happy Easter! Today is our Easter dinner, so I thought it would be appropriate to share the rest of the Easter cards that I made.

The first card is from the cartridge Simply Charmed, page 35. I chose the chick sitting down and cut that out in yellow at 3 inches. Then I cut the beak and feet, Layer 2,  in orange, also at 3 inches.  I assembled the chick and then took my black gel pen and added the eyes. If you don’t want to draw the eyes on you can cut the base out of black, Layer 1 out of yellow and Layer 2 out of orange and assemble the chick.  I just prefer to draw the eyes.

I wanted it to look like the chick was outside so I found some grass from Create a Critter. On page 45, I used the Accessory button and cut out the patch of grass in dark green at 3 inches. I then hit the Flip key and repeat last key.  When you hit the flip key, it cuts the icon as a mirror image. I also repeated this step using a lighter green paper. I attached the two layers slightly off center from each other.

I took a plain piece of blue paper that I wanted to use for the sky and attached that to the front of the card using my ATG gun. Next I used my smaller scallop punch and cut out two white circles for clouds. I attached the clouds and the grass to the “sky”. Using black ink, I stamped Happy Easter on the top left and then glued the chick in the grass. After all the pieces were on the card, I decided that it needed a little something more. I used orange stickles on the chick’s feet and beak and lace (white) stickles on the clouds.

The next card has a similar feel to it, with the sky and the grass. Instead of using the Cricut to cut the grass out, I took a dark green piece of paper and cut it to a little thicker than the width I wanted it to be. I then took the top edge and started to tear it, to make the paper look like a hill. I attached a blue piece of paper for the sky and then added the grass on top of that.

I knew I wanted to make a bunny card (it is Easter after all!) so I looked for a bunny image in my booklets. I found one on page 26 of Create a Critter. To create it, I cut the base in black, layer 1 in pink and layer 2 in brown, all at 3 inches. I assembled the bunny and placed him on my card. I realized I forgot to cut out his stomach, so I just took a white gel pen and colored it in.

The next step was to create his accessories. I got a stamp set from AC Moore in the dollar bin that has a basket and some eggs and another set that has three eggs linked together. Using some of the same brown card stock I used to cut the bunny, I inked up the basket stamp with black ink. I then took an oval xlarge Fiskar’s punch to create the base for the three eggs I wanted to add to the card. I stamped those with black ink and placed them on the front of the card.

The last step was to create the saying. I took the larger scallop punch and punched out a black circle. I used the silver gel pen I have and wrote “Hoppy Easter” and also drew stitch marks around the scallop. I glued all of the pieces down and my card was done!

Here is what the cards look like:

Thanks for stopping by!

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

