RSS Feed

Birthdays!

April is going to be a crazy month! Between birthdays and communions, starting work full-time again (mixed feelings on that one!),two trips (one work related, one for fun) AND Easter, I think that there’s something I have to do every single day. I wrote a list of the projects I needed to work on and the first ones I tackled were the birthday cards.

I started off with my godson’s card. Since he is a twin, I thought it would be easiest to make two of the same card. That way I could cross two people’s names off my list! I don’t like doing that because the boys are different and have different separate interests. But, for the sake of time, I did it this way.

I went though all of the stamps that were birthday related (much easier now since I reorganized my stamps!) and came across a set with three different presents. I decided I wanted to emboss the background with the presents and I chose a Martha Stewart glittery blue embossing powder. If you use the glitter embossing powders, it is harder to tell when the powder is melted. Unfortunately, I had that trouble with the background of these cards because of that.

After I embossed the card, I chose another stamp that has an owl with Happy Birthday on it. I used broken china distress ink on a scrap piece of paper to change the color of the paper and then stamped the owl image twice onto it. Then I took the postage stamp border from EK Success and punched around the edges of the stamped image. I also used a lighter piece of blue paper that I ran through the Cuttlebug with the Allegro folder (I think that’s what it is called – it’s the one with all the music notes) and then put a pop dot on the back of the owl image and attached those pieces to the card.

For the inside I used red Chalkbox ink to ink up a Happy Birthday stamp. I used another shade of blue paper to cover the inside (I made a mistake on one of the cards so I needed something to cover it up) and stamped the Happy Birthday in red. Under that I wrote each boy’s name on their own card and then signed it.

The last step was to put a design on the envelope. I chose a longer stamp that has cupcakes across it. I used Black Momento ink to ink up the stamp and then stamped the image on the outside flap of the envelope. I then wrote the boys’ names on their envelope and that’s it!

The card’s design is relatively simple and it didn’t take me a long time to make them both. The most time consuming part was the embossing. There are some mistakes on the cards, but I am sure that two 8 year old boys aren’t going to notice!

Here is how they turned out:cardenvelope

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

2 responses »

  1. Very cute! I love the owl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

