RSS Feed

Using the Cuttlebug for program fans

I have been starting to use the Cuttlebug more and more for projects lately. When I bought it right after Christmas (thanks to some gift cards that were given to me by my sister and future brother-in-law!) I wasn’t sure how much I would use it. I think I tend to have an obsession – I buy something and then use it a lot and amass lots of its accessories. Then I tend to forget about it and come back to it months later.

So lately I’ve been on a Cuttlebug kick. I guess you can say its thanks to the two who originally helped me buy it! My sister purchased the program fans from AC Moore and was trying to figure out what to do with them. The groom’s mom and the groom both agreed that they would look better with a picture in them. My sister, her fiancé and I all took a trip to AC Moore to try to find a punch that would work with fans. But, most punches only come up a couple of inches from the bottom of the paper and the Martha Stewart punch around the page punches don’t have openings large enough for a picture. What a dilemma.

I came up with a solution that I thought would work, but my sister’s fiancé wanted to ask the lady who worked at the store. She came up with a circle template and circle cutter that would cost almost $30! Then someone (not me!) would have to sit there and cut out 44 circles. He said he would do it – but everyone knows what that means! I can’t see him sitting there cutting out all those circles.

So we went back to my solution. The Cuttlebug. Sizzle makes these Nestabilities dies that will cut or emboss shapes and gives you a range of sizes (usually 5 to 8 die cuts in each package). I took them back over to that section and they decided that they wanted the oval package. Normally they are $24.99. It was one of AC Moore’s Midnight Madness sales where they offer 20% off everything and the dies were already 40% off.

First, they printed whatever they wanted on their fans, leaving room for the picture. Then they punched the fans out and taking the paper trimmer, cut down the folding line. I was given the front half of the fan to be run through the Cuttlebug with the correct size oval. Even though I had to run 44 of them through the machine, it only took me about an hour. If we had gone with the circle cutter and template, who knows how long that would have taken! (Plus I can never seem to get a good circle cut out of those things. Could be user error though!)

They asked me to do one more thing before giving the fronts back to them, but I will wait until after the wedding to reveal the final fan!

Hope this helps you find another use for your Cuttlebug! Happy scrapping!

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

