RSS Feed

YouTube is the best – and the worst!

How can YouTube be both the best and worst tool for my creativity? It is a great resource for coming up with new ideas, but it can also be overwhelming. There are so many different tips that you can pick up. I have learned so many new techniques just by typing in one or two of the items that I want to use in a layout.

However, lately I have become overwhelmed, not by the products themselves, but by the styles of the scrapbook pages that I have seen. I have started following a couple of designers whose style of scrapbooking I really admire. I have tried to emulate their way of scrapbooking, but I just can’t seem to get it correct. And then I get frustrated.

Sometimes too many ideas are worse than not enough. The styles I like are all different and as much as I try to match them in my pages, I feel like its not right. After trying to recreate a bunch of pages, I realized that it’s because it’s not my style. While I like looking at other designers’ layouts and trying to find some new inspiration, each scrapbooker has their own unique style. I think my problem is that I was trying to copy someone else’s work rather than incorporating aspects of it into my work.

Some designers use a single picture on the page and cluster their embellishments around it so that most of the page features the background paper. While I really like the look of this style, it isn’t me. I like the “more is more” approach. I think of the background paper as just a base to put my pictures on rather than the focus of the page. I like adding lots of embellishments like pieces I made from the Cricut, stamped or embossed images and/or titles and journaling.

YouTube is great for picking up tips and techniques. I will use it for learning how to use new products. However, I now know that everyone has their own style and you should stick with what works for you. There is no wrong in scrapbooking! Enjoy picking up new ideas from scrapbook,but stay true to your style. Happy scrapping!

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

2 responses »

  1. I was going to say it before you said it yourself – it’s best to incorporate bits into your style rather than trying to emulate an entire style. I find the same thing when I see someone’s work that I really love. I love it but it’s not my style. I instead try to focus on bits and pieces or techniques I want to try and file those ideas away. That way it’s still me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

