RSS Feed

Creative cards using Wild Card cartridge for Cricut

I haven’t used my Cricut in a while and I thought I’d do a post about one of my cartridges. My aunt and uncle just moved into a new house the other day and I wanted to make them a card. I went through some of my books for the Cricut and wanted to make something with a house image. I saw that there was a house with a heart coming out of the chimney in the Sweethearts cartridge. At first I thought I was going to use that – until I came across the Wild Card cartridge!
I’ve never used this one before so I thought, let me see what I can make. There is a card for pretty much any occasion on this one, from a bandage shaped card for a Get Well card to a champagne bottle as the partial front of the card for a congrats or new years card. Once I found the house image, I wasn’t sure what to do. So I went to YouTube and typed in the name of the cartridge and the word house and got a really good tutorial on how to put the card together.

First I chose a multi toned brown card stock to be the envelope, which is in the shape of a door! Quick tip when making any card from any Cricut cartridge. If you want to make the card as large as possible, cut the envelope first. To do this, hit the Fit to Page button on the expression and then Cut. Take notice of what size it says on the screen that the envelope will be cut at. Take the Fit to Page button off for all other parts of the card and use that measurement. For example, this envelope was cut a 7 3/4 so I cut out the envelope, card and layers at the same size. The reason you cut the envelope first is that sometimes the card will cut out at a larger size than the envelope. Just some things I’ve learned along the way!

Ok, so back to the card. The next step was to cut out the house shape (using the shift and blackout functions) to create the card base. I did this in a light blue. Then I picked a patterned paper and cut the house image out (just shift button) to go over the light blue. For the final touch, I used the liner function key with a piece of brown card stock to create the roof shingles and the window.

Once all the pieces were cut out, I scored the envelope and the card with my new Martha Stewart scoring board and then glued all the pieces together. A tip for the shingles – you can flip them out and you can see the house color underneath. It gives a little dimension to the card!

For the inside of the card, I cut out the phrase For Your New Home (phrase and shift keys) and then outlined that with my white gel pen with dashes. To add a small amount of detail to the card and envelope, I secured two brads to the pieces – a plain white one for the house’s door handle and a white crystal one for the door on the envelope. Since the crystal one was a tad too large for the door, I attached it to a small piece of brown paper and glued it behind the door.

Here is a look at what the card and envelope look like: Final CardCard closeupInside

Hope you like this card. As always, feel free to leave comments!

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

2 responses »

  1. That’s really cute! I love the door envelope!

    Reply
  2. Thanks Angela! I think the door envelope is my favorite part.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

