RSS Feed

Challenge # 8

I was curious to see how much I could do with an embossed image. When I was watching the YouTube and TwoPeas videos, there were a lot of different ideas. As I started going through the ones I wrote down, I found one I thought I could use on this page.

I used a couple of different embossing folders on this layout. I used two different swirled ones to create hearts to compliment the hearts that were on the page already. I used scraps of grey and pink which are two of the main colors in the background page. I used my Fiskars small and extra-large heart punches to create the hearts after I ran the paper through the Cuttlebug.

The last embossing folder I used comes from the Sizzix wedding set. It says Together Forever in a script font. This is where I used a new technique. I took a light grey piece of scrap paper and ran it through the Cuttlebug using the Together Forever folder. Then I used VersaMark and covered the entire surface of the embossed image. Once the VersaMark was on the image, I used clear embossing powder and the heat gum to set the powder. This technique gives you a slightly darker image than the original with a little bit of a shine. I think it makes the embossed image stand out more than if you just left it.

To finish off the page, I took a scrap piece of pink paper and wrote in silver ink a line from a song. I also took a rectangle pink scrap paper and embossed it with the same swirl folder I used on the pink hearts. I placed the Together Forever embossed piece on top of that paper and decided it needed a little something so I took the design scissors and cut a fancy edge around the image.
Embossed phrase
I then glued all the pieces down and added the pictures. I had placed the pictures side by side with no spacing in between and matted them on the same grey paper I used earlier. I also used a grey chalk ink to lightly ink the edges of the mat.

Here are the results:
Full layout

Hope this gives you some ideas for new techniques! As always, feel free to comment.

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

