RSS Feed

Challenge # 7

I added some new challenge ideas to my list the other day and one of them was to create a monochromatic layout. I thought that it would be a fun challenge to take on, especially in the wedding album I have been working on. For this, I chose a layout with two pictures of my sorority sisters from Erika’s wedding. The background paper that I had picked for this layout was two-toned purple flower bursts with a little bit of sparkle.

First I looked through my scraps for any purple paper that I could use on this layout. I found two different shades of solid purple paper that I used as mats around the photos. I then took a 12×12 sheet of light purple paper that has white flowers and cut that down to a 5×12 sheet to use as a border on the right side of the page. To make the transition between the two patterned papers less noticeable, I used a dark purple ribbon.

Next I went through my stickers and found several purple ones – one that says OLD Friends, another one that is purple flowers and some purple star stickers. The significance of purple is that the girls in these two pictures are some of my sorority sisters and purple was our color. I thought that this would make it fitting to have an all purple layout!

When I matted the pictures, it looked boring. So, I took the larger, darker photo mat and a row of flowers stamp, used VersaMark and stamped the outter edges of the mat. Doing this creates a watermark effect (a slightly darker colored image than the background paper). For the smaller, lighter mat, I took a handwriting stamp and some Dusty Concord distress ink to create the background. After all the layers were glued together, I placed them on the page to see how the page was coming together.

I glued the purple and white flower patterned paper to the background sheet and then adhered the ribbon over the seam between the two sheets. The pictures were afixed to the page next and then I placed the “OLD Friends” sticker between the two photos. The empty space on the right side still needed something.

I took a plain dark purple sheet of paper and ran it through the Cuttlebug with an embossing folder from the birthday collection for Sizzix. I glued that piece down in the middle of the right section and then added two purple stars and the purple flowers. Here are the results:

Hope this gives you another idea to create a page or two of your own. As always, feel free to leave comments!

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

