RSS Feed

Challenge # 5

How can you tie embellishments together? Often you will use several different ones in a single layout, but there is a lack of cohesion in them. Challenge number five addresses one way to help tie everything together to keep your page from looking choppy and make it appealing to the eye.
For this layout I used four different papers (both patterned and solid) with the Spell Binders Nestability scalloped die cuts. For one of the layers I used a light pink paper that ended up not really going with my page. When something like this happens, I use distress inks to color in the paper. I chose Victorian Velvet and colored in the scalloped paper.

For the photo mats, I used the same paper as the top and bottom scallops. Before I glued anything down, I placed all of the papers together and realized that even though they were all a shade of pink paper, they didn’t really flow. How was I going to make it work?

My solution to this is to ink the edges of all the embellishments and photo mats. Since repetition and symmetry are pleasing to the eye, this helps tie everything together. I inked up all the edges of the die cuts and mats and then glued them all together. Before I glued anything to the page, I cut off an inch from two of the sides of the patterned paper and glued that to a solid paper that coordinated with the patterned paper. inch cut off

Once all the pieces were secured to the background, I realized that I needed something to go in the bottom left corner. I had cut out a saying for an earlier layout that I didn’t use that said “Friends Forever” and thought maybe that would look good down in that corner. I actually liked it better on top of the die cut embellishment. I used a pair of the fancy scissors to create waves around the phrase and then I glued it down.die cut
Still needing something for that bottom corner, I looked online for a friendship quote. Once I found one I liked, I used VersaMark to ink up a quotes stamp I had and then used light pink embossing powder. Since the “Friends Forever” was written in green, I used a green embossing marker to write in the quote. I inked up the edges with the same Worn Lipstick distress ink that I used on the other embellishments and glued it down.Quote
For the final touch, I took a square brad that I had lying around and covered it in a scrap from the patterned paper that was left over. I then used it in the space where the two photo mats overlapped. Before gluing the patterned paper to the brad, I also inked the edges in the Worn Lipstick distress ink. Brad
Using ink on the edges of your embellishments and photo mats helps tie everything together. Some people even ink the edges of their pictures. I hope this tip helps when you are creating a page and want to tie all the embellishments and photo mats together!
Here is the layout:
Final

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

