RSS Feed

Organizing your supplies

Last night I finally had it with my scrap room/office. It was so disorganized and such a mess that I had to do something about it. So I took a couple of hours to try and put everything in its place. Now if you know me, you know how much I HATE cleaning and organizing so this is a big deal!
First, I started off with the things on my desk. I have a tendency to use something and then not put it back where it belongs, especially if I tend to use that item a lot. So I had stamps, embossing powder, stickers and other embellishments along with paper scraps all over my desk. Another thing you probably know about me is that I hate to waste anything. I think, oh, I can use this scrap of paper for something. Some might call it hoarding, but I like to think of it as not being wasteful lol. It makes me feel better at least! With that being said, I first tackled the paper scraps and made three piles – one that had a good amount of unused space left that I could use again, a second pile of scraps to be thrown away and the third one was shapes that I cut out but didn’t use. With the Cricut, sometimes it takes one or two differ tried to get the image the size you want. I had a lot of random animals and paper doll cutouts lying around.
Over the past year or two, I have purchased photo/shoe boxes (the same size as the ones I used for my sister’s centerpieces) and large paper storage boxes made out of the same material. I had a couple of large ones so I thought that those could house my wooden stamps, punches and cling stamps along with some regular ink pads. I have a bunch of smaller boxes for markers, embossing powders and perfect pearl products, scissors and other supplies. I then placed these boxes on either side of my craft mat. I don’t think that this is the most practical solution, but for right now I am going to make it work.

The last thing I need to organize is my paper supply. Right now I have some of my solid card stock and patterned paper in file folder racks. It isn’t the best solution and I am trying to figure out how to store them. My friend Amanda, who writes the blog theperpetualplanner.wordpress.com had some great ideas. I’m not going to steal them on here – I told her to write them in her blog. She’s very organized and I knew she would be the perfect person to ask. So check out her blog for suggestions on how to organize almost anything!
Part of my paper storage problem is the paper scraps. I am still looking for a way to store them. I think I may have found a good solution, but I have to purchase the storage bin and then I will see how it works. If anyone has any ideas, please feel free to share.

Here is what my scrap room looks like now (it’s not perfect, but its 100% better than it was before I started to organize!)
Left side of my desk Right side of my desk

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

3 responses »

  1. Nice work getting everything organized! I think the most important part is just finding what works for you.

    Reply
  2. Thank you so much with regard to writing your report Organizing your supplies scrapsecrets . I didn’t know these details, so I could keep it helpful right now in order to research it in the future.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

