RSS Feed

Challenge # 4

The technique to decided to try out for my fourth challenge is called masking. I chose two pictures of my friends Erika and Mike singing with the band onstage during their reception. Originally I had chosen a patterned background, but to do this technique, I had to switch it out for a plain white piece of paper.
Since they were the stars of the day, I decided to use stars as a mask. I recently purchased a Martha Stewart stars punch all over the page punch and thought this might be a good place to try it out. I used a scrap piece of teal colored paper and placed the cut out stars all over the plain white piece of paper. Teal Stars
After the stars were placed where I wanted them, I then took a blue perfect pearls mist and sprayed the page. I then went back over it with a little bit of the pink perfect pearls mist. This is the result. Misted *One note, next time I do this I think I will use the other part left over from the punch because doing it this way made some of the stars move when I went to spray them. Lesson learned!
Once the page was misted, I used tweezers to remove the star pieces and then hit the paper with the heat gun so that it would dry faster. I found the patterned paper that I wanted to use for the photo mats and mounted them. I decided that the page needed a couple more pieces. As I am one that will use as many scraps as I can, I wanted to use the stars with the perfect pearl mist on them. I took a piece of chipboard that I embossed with white embossing powder and glued down those teal stars.
The last piece I needed to create was the “Celebrate” embossed embellishment. I bought a bunch of embossing folders from Sizzix the other day and one of them was the birthday folders. I thought the “Celebrate” one was appropriate because the day was all about celebrating Erika and Mike and it also contained stars to tie into the star-themed page! After I ran that through my Cuttlebug, I used Stickles to outline the word Celebrate and then used my white gel pen to outline the big star and color in the smaller stars. The final touch was adding a cloud clothes pin embellishment to the top corner and glue everything down. Here is the finished project:
Final
I plan on trying the masking technique again for another page soon! It was a fun way to turn a plain piece of white paper into something shiny with subtle background shapes.

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

