RSS Feed

Scrapbooking with kids – Part 2

While I had my niece at my house for a couple of hours today, she wanted to do some scrapbooking. We started on her own scrapbook awhile ago and she keeps asking every time I see her to finish it. So I figured that today would be a good time to work on it some more.

Each time we work on the book I try to show her a new technique. Last time it was the markers that can be used to color in stamps. This time I wanted to show her how to use the Cricut. The pictures we worked on were from this past Halloween when she was a cat. I just got the Cricut cartridge Paper Doll Dress Up and thought it would be a good idea to try it out. I showed her the front of the cartridge, which shows a girl dressed as a black cat and she immediately wanted to make a page using that image.

I made another project that used the Every Day Paper Doll cartridge so I had a couple of cut out people lying around my workspace. She chose the smaller of the two and it fit perfectly on the page. I showed her the costume and allowed her to look throughout the image booklet to choose the hair she wanted. She wanted to have a black cat outfit, so I cut that out at 4 inches to match the doll. I also cut out the tail and the ears at 4 inches. She also wanted the doll to have yellow hair, so she chose the hairstyle that was associated with the genie, which was also cut out at 4 inches.

Once all the pieces were cut out, she asked me to draw the face on the doll. She suggested green eyes so the doll looked like her. After the face was drawn on we started to assemble the doll and then once all the pieces were on, I took my white gel pen and drew lines where there were cuts in the ears to make it look more realistic. She was so excited when the doll was completed and couldn’t wait to add it to the page! Here is what the page ended up looking like:

Scrapbooking with kids can be a fun activity. My niece happens to love doing it and wants to be as involved as she can be. There are a lot of things that they can’t or shouldn’t do (like use the heat gun – unsupervised at least!!) but try to let them do as much as they can themselves. I always ask her what pictures she wants to put on each page, what materials she wants to use and what colors she wants. It’s fun to see what their creative little minds can come up with and it’s all worth it to see that smile when they realized that they did a great job. Have fun!

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

2 responses »

  1. Yup, need to buy that Cricut soon!! Good ideas with kids!

    Reply
  2. Yes you do! Maddie will love doing projects with you. Maybe we can all scrapbook together once you get the Mini. Btw the expression 2 is on sale at Michaels this week…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

