RSS Feed

Challenge #1

I wasn’t sure where to start when it came to the list of items for my personal challenges. Do I start with an easier one and work to the ones that are harder or I am more afraid to try? Or do I dive right in to the hardest part?
Well, for the first one I took it a little easy. One of the challenges was to use an item from one collection on something that it wouldn’t normally be used on. I thought about using my stamps because I have so many different collections, one of which is called Asian Inspired by Fiskars.
I am working on my friend Erika’s wedding album. She got married at the beach in Ocean City, MD in September. How could I make these stamps with an Asian influence work for one of her pages? There was nothing about her wedding (which had a play theme to it – the programs were a playbill, we signed records instead of a guest book) that could be linked to these stamps!
Three of these stamps are the symbols for love, peace and happiness, with the corresponding word written underneath the symbol. I chose to use just the word part of two (love and happiness) in the page somewhere. Since the words were small, I needed to do something to make them stand out. I punched out a scalloped/postcard edge border by EK Success and then cut the paper to a one inch strip and repeated the process. I then took the stamps and inked them in VersaMark. Originally I chose white embossing powder, but then I remembered I bought some yellow Martha Stewart embossing powder that I wanted to try. For the second try, I used the yellow embossing powder. With the green paper, it makes the powder almost look clear.

Here is a look at the final product.

For the next project, I am going to try something a little bit more difficult.

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

