RSS Feed

The Challenge

Recently I started subscribing to a bunch of YouTube videos of designers whose style I like and have learned some new techniques from. When I watch their videos, I am always thinking, wow – that’s a great idea. I will have to remember that for my next project. I have seen so many creative and new techniques that I have decided to present myself with a challenge.
Because I have felt like I am in a rut, I wrote down a bunch of these ideas over the last couple of weeks. I am now going to try to use some of the list ideas to create either cards or scrapbook pages and will post my results. I can do this since I now have a lot more time on my hands. (I am currently out of work on disability after knee surgery for those of you who don’t already know). To keep my brain functioning and keep on a schedule, I will attempt to make one to two projects a week. I will then post what I made and tell you what the new techniques were.
I think it’s a good idea to always try new things. Some of these ideas are out of my comfort zone and the style of scrapbooking is not one that I am used to. One designer concentrates her pictures and embellishments in one area and leaves a lot of room for journaling. I am not big on journaling – I usually will only write one or two sentences about the pictures. Another designer uses tons of paper to create layers and borders. I have a hard time mixing patterned paper, so that’s another challenge for me.
So stay tuned and hopefully I will have some good results to post soon! If you have any ideas or techniques that you like or want me to try, please feel free to post a comment and I will try them out.

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

