RSS Feed

Single vs Double Layouts – How do I know what I want to do?

Up until recently, I have only done single layouts. I had never attempted to do a two page layout because, well, I never thought about it and I didn’t really know how to pull one off. When I was putting together the almost 80 page scrapbook for my sister, I realized that I didn’t have months to complete it and that maybe I should look into this two-page layout idea.

Of course one of my first places I go to when I need to see how something works is YouTube. When I watched some of the videos I thought, hey, I can do this! It’s not that much different from creating a one page layout, but there are some things that you have to consider.

First, a two page layout usually requires you to have the same background on both pages. This helps tie in the two pages. You can have coordinating backgrounds, but I find it looks best with the same page. The other option that I found worked for me was to take two of the same doubled-sided papers and use one side for the left page and one for the right. I did this for the Easter layout in my sister’s book. The two pages were slightly different colors but went well together, but there were items that tied the two pages together so that you knew it was a two page layout.

Another reason to do a two page layout is that it can be a time saver. When you create (2) one page layouts, you have to coordinate the colors and make sure that the two tie in well together. If you do a two page layout, the pages don’t have to be mirror – images of each other, but it will cut down on the fact that you have to come up with a brand new layout. Often, the pages contain the same or similar elements, maybe in different colors or size of shapes. For example, in that Easter layout, I created a chick and a person dressed as a bunny from a Cricut cartridge and placed those on the pages. The embellishments were not the same, but I didn’t have to come up a whole new layout for the second page – it just mirrored the first page’s design.

A third reason to create a two page layout is that the two pages are about the same topic. In the album I created for my sister, I had a bunch of pictures from the early years of both of their lives. When I created the page, I used the same color background, the same scalloped circle to put their name in and then since the pictures were about the same thing, I titled it “Early Years”. I put one word of the title on his page and one on hers. It helps to keep those pages cohesive and I think it looks more appealing.

There are reasons to do single layouts too. For example, if you are doing your scrapbook for the year and you have pictures from one event on the left and a completely unrelated event on the right, it can be tough to tie them together. If the people and places in the photos are not similar and you can’t find any way to tie them together, a single layout can work. You still have to choose paper that will look appealing next to each other, but you have more choices here. If you have a white background with red snowflakes on it because you have snow pictures on the left and then Valentines day photos on the right, the background for the Valentines day page wouldn’t look right with snowflakes. You can choose a background paper that has red hearts or even a solid red paper to put the pictures on.

Another reason for a single page layout is that you want a different title or quote on each page. Traditionally, a two page layout has a title or quote that spans both pages and is either mirror image or pretty close. The page that I did for the Big Brothers in my sister’s album was a two page layout because the quote went from the first to the second page. I used three different quotes for the Big Sister’s pages and I wanted two specific ones on mine and hers and the other on Andy and his sister’s page. Even though I used different background paper on the Big Brothers pages, it was tied in with the quote. I used different background pages on the Big Sisters pages, but separate quotes.

I hope this helps you when you are trying to decide between one and two page layouts. You don’t have to make your scrapbook all one or all two page layouts – mix them up and have fun!

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

