RSS Feed

I have scrapper’s block – how do I overcome it??

You’ve heard of writers block, but scrapers get it as well! Most often it happens to me when I am thinking too much about how a page should look or if I have done several pages in one day. So now that you know that it is a real thing, what do you do about it?
Right now I am working on an almost 80 page scrapbook. For anyone who has ever worked on a project this big (or larger) at some point you have experienced that mental block where you say, I just don’t know what to do! While it’s frustrating, there are several things you can do to break the block.
1- Walk away from the project. This may seem counterintuitive, especially if you are like me and are on a deadline. Giving you brain a ten or fifteen minute break will help you relax. Go take a walk and let your mind rest. It will restore some creativity and your sanity!
2- Look at other projects you have done. When I try to create a couple of pages in one day, I feel like they all have the same style or look. I try to overcome it by looking at other scrapbooks or cards I’ve created by inspiration. What are your favorite layouts from past projects? Can you take bits and pieces from each one and create a whole new look? You will be surprised with what you can come up with from taking your old layouts and making them new!
3- Visit YouTube. If I am staring at a page and know I want to use a certain item, such as distress inks, I type the keyword into YouTube and am amazing at how many videos pop up on the subject. Not only do they teach you different ways to use your materials, but most often they will show you what that item looks like on a completed card or scrapbook page. You can gain plenty of new ideas from YouTube!
4- Stop working on that page and move on to another. More often than not, when I move on, in the back of my mind I am thinking about that page I just couldn’t figure out. While I am busy working on the new page, I usually get a good sense of what I want my other page to look like.
5- Challenege yourself to use just the materials in front of you. Too many times I get bogged down by the overwhelming number of materials I have to choose from to create a layout. I have no choice right now to but to use the materials I brought to my dad’s house since I am staying there while recovering from knee surgery. I know that I have the Cricut at home, but I need to finish this book and my only option is to use what I brought. It’s definitely a challenge, but I am trying new things because of it!
6- Write or sketch. Right now, I am stuck. I have created 8 pages today and am trying to work on another 2 page layout. So I decided to write this blog. (I also took my own advice and watched YouTube). It can be tough to create a bunch of different layouts after a long day of scrap booking. Sketching some basic shapes onto a scratch piece of paper can also help you turn doodles into a layout.
Hope this tips helped! I will have a lot more blogs in the coming weeks.

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

