RSS Feed

I’m ready to start making a scrapbook – but where do I start??

Starting a new project can be a daunting task – even for people who have made many scrapbooks in the past. It always takes me awhile to actually get started. I usually get nervous, especially if it is going to be a gift. The last book I did was for my brother and future sister-in-law (I will post some pictures. I couldn’t before because Erin reads this!!) I get nervous up until the minute I give it to them. But the most nerve-wracking part is where to begin.

When I first started, I used to take the pictures I printed and divide them up in chronological order. (My first – and most of – my scrapbooks are one event, with the exception of my goddaughter’s yearly scrapbooks). After I did that, I would work on one page at a time, choosing the background as I went. But since I am Type A, I always worried if I was choosing the right background page or is there another page that it would go better with? So now I place all my divided up pictures (between one and four per page) in the an album in order and then I go through my paper and try to match the pieces up with pictures. This way my layouts come together a little better. At least this is what works for me! After I select the background, I usually see if there are coordinating papers that go with it and place that in the sheet protector as well as any embellishments I might have. This helps to keep me organized.

By the end of this process, I have usually changed papers because in the end one or two sheets didn’t fit the theme or I decided I liked that background on another set of photos. I feel like I have a better idea as to what direction my scrapbook is going in. For instance, the last book that I did was the one for my brother and his fiancée (is that right Erin?? lol). They participated in the Mud Run for MS this past June and it was so much fun to watch them! I decided as a Christmas / engagement (kinda late on the engagement present – sorry), I would take those pictures and make an album for them. As I was trying to pick backgrounds, I tended to stay with the colors of the theme – browns and gold for that “mud” feeling of the event and pinks because both Erin and Kim, her friend, were wearing pink. (My brother Johnny was NOT wearing pink!) I had some other color backgrounds in there, but it didn’t seem to work with the overall theme.

For me, picking out the background papers before I start helps to keep my piece cohesive.It also helps me see the pages come together. As I am putting the paper with the pictures, I am visualizing what the layout might look like and what embellishments or Cricut cartridges I might need. If there are papers, stickers or other add ons that I don’t have but know I saw at the store, I take mental notes to go get them. Or, if I don’t have a background that suits my needs, I create one.

This is how I get over that initial fear of starting a project. Since just picking papers is nothing permanent like making a page, it is easier for me to get over that procrastinating stage where I say I will start tomorrow! Here is one of the pages that I did for their book (unfortunately I didn’t take many pictures – I was so excited to finish the book and wrap it that I forgot!) This is them crossing the finish line. I took the second picture a minute too late – the finished in two hours exactly – Just like they wanted to!
Crossing the finish line!

Hope this helps if you ever have trouble starting on a project like I do!

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

One response »

  1. Thank youso much! You are truly the best at this… never quit. This is your calling! One of the most thoughtful gifts i have ever received!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

