RSS Feed

More cards with embossing heat gun

I made some more cards tonight and decided to do something a little different. For a friend’s birthday, I made an “S” card and I really liked the way that looked. I thought it would make for an interesting Christmas card. So for the first new card, I took one of the cards from the packaged card set I bought and took the front of the card and folded it in half. I then took some green polka dot patterned paper and glued it to some plain green cardstock. It wasn’t long enough to coved the front of the card, so I pasted two pieces together. I then put the snowman ribbon over it so you couldn’t tell! I attached these pieces to the front and in the inside of the card. Then I made sure the snowman ribbon matched up with the ribbon on the front. In order to hide the message inside of the card until it’s open, you want to make sure you have a piece on the front that is either the same size of bigger than the message inside. I chose to use two red scrap pieces of paper that were the same size. On the one for the front, I embossed a Peace, Joy and Love stamp using VersaMark ink and the same green embossing powder from Martha Stewart that I used the other day. For the inside, I took a scratch piece of green paper (same color as the border around the polka dot paper) and stamped Season’s Greetings in Fire Brick distress ink by Tim Holtz. Then I attached the green piece of scratch with the stamped image to the red paper that is the same size as the piece on the front. The trick to getting them to line up is – put adhesive on the back of the second paper and then on the non-adhesive side put it directly behind the image on the front of the card. Once you do that, close the card and it will show you right where to glue your inside sentiment down. For the envelope, I used a studio g stamp that says Happy * Holidays and inked it with Peeled Paint distress ink from Tim Holtz. Here’s what the card looks like.
S CardFolded s cardInside s cardS card openS Card w envelope

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

