RSS Feed

More holiday cards using the Cricut and distress inks

I’ve been trying to come up with different ideas for all of my cards. Last night I created two more that I really liked and wanted to share. For the first one, I used the Cricut cartridge Winter Frolic. I cut out the reindeer shape at 3 1/2 in black (so the antlers and nose are black), and then used the shift key to cut out the top layer of his body in a brown shiny paper. I used another brown colored paper to create the spots on his back, underside of his tail and the string for the lights. I did this by hitting the Layers and Reindeer keys. Then I hit the shift key, layers and reindeer keys to create the red lights and scarf and repeated this step with a blue paper for the blue lights. If you don’t want to do the last step twice, you can always use white paper and then color in the scarf and lights whatever color you want. Once I put the reindeer together, I attached him to a white piece of cardstock and then glued him to a dark card base. I then used a My Sentiment’s Exactly! stamp that says Hope your holiday is bright! in blue on the front and stamped another sentiment from the same set on the inside. I used one final stamp from that same set to stamp the envelope.

The second card is similar to the one I did with the holly in another post. This time I made the card long ways though. I used the same word background stamp as before but used fired brick distress ink to create the textured background. I then cut out the poinsettia from the cartridge Joys of the season. I started by pressing the shadow feature and cutting out the poinsettia at 3 inches in the black paper. I then used the poinsettia key to cut out the leaves in green and the layer and poinsettia keys to cut out the top of the flower in red, both at 3 inches. I repeated the layers and poinsettia step in yellow as well. If you don’t want to do that, again, you can use white paper, make the cuts and color or paint them in. I like cutting multiple layers because I think it gives the objects more dimension, especially when they are sitting on a card. I used the stamp Seasons Greetings in Fired Brick distress ink for the envelope and two stamps to create the inside of the card’s greeting.

Hope you like them!

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

One response »

  1. Pingback: NC Poinsettias Make the Holiday Bright « North Carolina "Homeschool-ology"

Leave a Reply

