RSS Feed

Card making for the holiday season

I recently started making cards. So, I figured, why not try to make some for Christmas? I went to AC Moore tonight and got 2 packs of 50 cards for $10. Not too bad. I also picked up some more Christmas and holiday themed stamps, came home and started to make some sample cards.

The first card I made was with a stamp that I picked up tonight. It’s by Tara Reed. I used black archival ink to ink up the stamp and placed it on one of the white cards I bought. Once the ink was dry, I used markers to color in the stamped image. . The title was stamped with Distress ink in peeled paint and it was from My Sentiments Exactly! . The inside of the card has a sentiment from the same stamp set as the front. I then stamped an ornament stamp on the envelope and here is the final product!

The second card used some images from the Cricut and stickers. First, I used the Winter Frolic cartridge and cut out the “Wishing you & yours” phrase shadow and phrase at 2 1/2 inches. The phrase is in green and the shadow is in white. The Santa is from Paper Bliss sticker pack and the background paper is Christmas papers by Canvas Home Basics.
For the inside, I used two colors of distress ink to color the bottom half of the card for some contrast. I then used the Girl4 phrase (green) and phrase shadow (red) to create the title for the inside of the card. . The envelope was stamped with Recollections stamp collection using distress ink in Fired Brick.

The last card I made is a Holly Card. Using a background stamp, I used peeled paint distress ink to stamp up the background of the front of my card. . The next step was to use the Cricut cartridge “Stretch Your Imagination”. I cut the Holly at 2 1/2 inches in green, Layers for the berries in red at 2 1/2 inches and also the shadow in 2 1/2 inches. I then used the Happy Hollydays stamp with VersaMark ink (ink used to emboss images) and Perfect Pearls to obtain an embossed effect. I bordered it with red paper and attached the green paper to the red paper with Pop Dots for a 3D effect.
A quick tip when embossing – I have heard people say that you need an embossing buddy to run over the paper to get rid of static so that the embossing powder doesn’t stick to parts of the paper that you don’t want it to. I found that you can get the same effect from using a dryer sheet. It’s more cost effective and you don’t have to buy another supply that you may not use all that often!

For the inside, I used paper from the Christmas papers. I also used another stamp from the My Sentiments Exactly! stamp set with silver ink on a green sheet and glued that to a red strip of paper. . Finally, I used another MSE stamp with Fired Brick distress ink on the envelope.

I hope these cards give some inspiration for you to make your own!

About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

